I made my first lave cake and here's the result!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I enjoy baking, but I don't have the patience for a recipe that will take an hour or more. Life is too short! So when I want to bake, I search for quick and easy recipes. For example, I don't like a recipe that requires more than 5 or 6 ingredients. I want one that can allow me to make things I already have in the house so I don't have to go out for them 😏 In addition, whatever I will bake should take 10-15 minutes preparation time, throw it (I mean place it) in the oven, then get on with the rest of my day! So I found this Molten lava cake recipe and it's definitely worth it!

Ingredients

lava cake 1.jpg

3 eggs,
170 grams (6 ounces) of baking chocolate (I use a regular dark chocolate),
1/3 cup of flour
Half a teaspoon of coffee (I made the 2nd time without it and it was fine!)
Half a teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 granulated sugar (I used regular brown sugar and blended it. Same result!)
170 grams (6 ounces) of butter (make sure it's room temperature)

Cooking time = 25 mins

1. Pre-heat oven to 175 degrees (350F)

2. Break the chocolate into pieces, and melt it on low heat in a double boiler. Stir it until it's smooth and liquid.

lava cake 2.jpg

3. In a bowl, whisk the 3 eggs until they're foamy, add the granulated sugar and keep whisking until it's white and foamy.

lava cake 4.jpg

4. Cut the butter into small pieces, add it to the warm and melted chocolate and then stir it until the butter is melted. While doing this, also add the cinnamon and coffee to the mixture.

lava cake 7.jpg

5. Add the chocolate to the eggs and sugar mixture, and be VERY careful here. You must keep stirring as the chocolate mix is going into the eggs. You don't want scramble eggs, which might happen with the heat of the chocolate if not stirred well and fast! Finally, add the flour and mix everything.

lava cake 8.jpg

6. Pour the batter into a small baking dish of your choice like a ramekin. (The ones I used are pretty big, but the usual size should fill 4 ramekins).

lava cake 10.jpg

Place it in the oven and wait for 25 mins. I normally give extra five or 10 minutes to baking because every oven is different. Just keep an eye on it, and if the top is dry, then it's time to remove!

lava cake 11.jpg

Yummy! Just sprinkle a bit of vanilla or powdered sugar, and it's good to go! If you want to commit TWO crimes in one day, then this can also be combined with vanilla ice-cream 😋

lava cake 12.jpg

Hope you liked it and give it a try. It's EXQUISITE and I think I might have developed an addiction...

Sort:  

How is you lave cake ;-;

It was delicious! Thanks for asking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64