EASY VEGAN SPAGHETTI 🍝 / the everything sauce recipe

in #food6 years ago

Are you a fan of spaghetti?

I know I am! I’ve loved it ever since I was little. I loved them to the point where I would have them plain, with no sauce or anything added at all. Well, sometimes I would add ketchup but only occasionally. I’m over that stage now so here I am with a homemade sauce recipe.

This meal consists of whole wheat spaghetti, the sauce which we could also just call the everything sauce because it consists of pretty much every sauce ingredient you could ever imagine except basic ones and veggie stir fry to finish the meal off.

Let’s talk about the everything sauce now, shall we? It’s basically a mix of everything. All sauces combined in one sauce that forms heaven. The flavour of it is pretty chilled, not overwhelming because we still want to taste the spaghetti, plus we also have the amazing tasting stir fry yet to come so sauce just gives a nice mild flavour.

fullsizeoutput_158b.jpeg

Also, do you know how much better whole wheat spaghetti taste compared to basic ones? I mean, I’ve had it several times before but today I especially fell in love with them. I think they go really well with the everything sauce (I love this name so much now) and the stir fry and the favours combine together really well.

fullsizeoutput_158c.jpeg

I haven’t found a good healthy store-bought pasta sauce yet. I mean not that I’m trying to but we all know what it’s like when you have that option – it’s easy, quick and convenient. There was a tomato and basil one I used to love but after eating loads of it I got bored and now I can barely even smell it anymore. Yes, that’s how sick of it I got. And because of all of that I have to keep creating my own pasta sauces and honestly, I love them because I can be the one that controls what the flavours will be, how strong it will be, how spicy… Literally everything.

fullsizeoutput_158d.jpeg


EASY VEGAN SPAGHETTI / the everything sauce recipe

  • Yield: 2 servings
  • Time: 20 minutes

| INGREDIENTS

  • 160 g whole wheat spaghetti
    SAUCE:
  • 1 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tbsp hummus
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
    STIR FRY:
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • ½ can chickpeas
  • 150 g smoked tofu
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

| METHOD

1/ Cook spaghetti according to instructions on the packaging.

2/ STIR FRY: Cut zucchini, bell pepper and tofu into smaller pieces. Add to a large pan along with chickpeas and coconut oil and sauté until golden brown, then add soy sauce. In the meantime, create the sauce.

3/ In a medium pan add soy milk and bring to boil. While waiting to boil, mix cornstarch with 4 tbsp water until dissolved and there are no lumps. That will make the sauce smooth and creamy. When boiling add all the rest of ingredients apart from cornstarch and mix until evenly incorporated. Then add cornstarch, stir and cook for 7-10 minutes or until thickened to desired consistency.

4/ When everything is ready, serve on a plate, mix and enjoy!


fullsizeoutput_158e.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed today's recipe! Have a wonderful day!

Nina

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-10T17:17:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 534.95/200.00
Total Photos: 88
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.63 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Crunchy Spaghetti mix. I will have to try this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33