Middle Eastern Style Beef - Can I cook a steak in an Air Fryer?

in #food7 years ago

Family time in the kitchen is so important to me. It's the heart of every home. It's a place where we can all talk about the worlds problems and forget all about them as well. As you'll see, they enjoyed experimenting with their dad who just got a new gadget to play with!

G'Day my fellow Steemers :) Firstly, my apologies for the lack of posts the past few days - the dreaded winter flu hit our household, I still haven't found my voice and when you talk for a living it's very irritating.

IMG_2441 copy.jpg

So firstly a disclosure - The Philips company sent me a new air fryer to road test (And no they haven't paid me for this post but they did pay me for a Facebook video). I've always been intrigued with air fryers, but being an old school cook I prefer to do things the old fashioned way. However, many of my viewers love shortcuts in the kitchen and if I can help them decide on a product thats worth your hard earned money, I will. I only ever showcase products I've road tested personally. Trust me, you don't want to see the amount of stuff I get thats just utter rubbish.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 6.09.53 pm.png

Meet the Philips Air Fryer Digital with Turbo Star Advance (still trying to work out what that means...) I think it may have something to do with the fact you don't need to preheat before cooking.

I wanted to really challenge this machine, sure it can do a basket of fries or chicken wings. But can it cook a steak like I would in the pan without oil? Surely not I thought. So I thought up of some different flavours to go with my scotch fillet - balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, cumin, fennel seeds, salt/pepper and fresh thyme. With it I chopped up some chunky veg - potato, tomato, cucumber and eggplant.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 6.18.07 pm.png

With me were my kitchen helpers, my daughter Imogen -

IMG_2474 copy.JPG

And my son Jack :)

IMG_2459 copy.JPG

To check out the recipe video where we made the steak in the fryer you can view it here -> https://www.facebook.com/NickosKitchen/videos/10155874484518706/

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 6.56.51 pm.png

Long story short, I was really surprised how well it turned out. That's no reflection on air fryers but generally people won't cook a piece of steak in there. Now of course you'll always get a better finish cooking it in a pan - but for those aren't confident or time poor it will deliver a really good product. The meat was tender, juicy and what I loved is the preset meat option. Just load the programmed time, set and it turns itself off when its finished - so no need to worry about it overcooking.

I was very surprised with the result! The tomatoes collapsed really nicely, the vegetables cooked perfect. All with very little oil involved. So it gets a pass from me. Have you got one? Let me know what you think.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 6.57.37 pm.png

Have a great everyone!

~ Rob

Sort:  

Nice post

That philips air fryer worked its magic, the steak looks so sumptuous

I was very surprised :)

Hey @nickoskitchen I want to ask you a favour please go here and vote for me in the comments section :) https://steemit.com/africa/@jimbojones/i-want-to-give-someone-in-africa-a-free-laptop

I've been looking at these myself. Did you happen to try french fries? That's a huge factor for me, it's got to do french fries well. Fantastic post, sorry about the household flu, I hope all are well now

I have tried the fries yes (homemade) and they turned out really well. My wife has it the worst poor thing, its the season for it sadly

Looks super tasty! Beautiful presentation and colour as well with those vegetables.

very kind, thank you :)

This looks sooo good @nickoskitchen! You should open a restaurant. 😍 Thanks for the recipe. Keep up the great posts, I'd love to see more!

thanks so much :) I've consulted many restaurants, I'm happy doing my thing at the moment

Great post,nice work done!followed and upvoted you,if you like technology,please follow me!!!!

thank you, very kind! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44