Pumpkin and Kale Vegan Soup [An Unpredictable Love Story].

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180513_153030.jpg

This wholefood vegan recipe makes four serves and has the potency of the toughest behind-the-counter drugs with none of the nasty side effects. [Yes, you'll need a high powered blender again.]

Cooked kale's been shown to have an extra kick to it.

I recently revisited the literature thanks to our beloved Dr. Greger (who shares the science for free, unlike the publishing journals who charge tens of thousands for subscriptions). I was reminded that kale's health benefits appear to be boosted when consumed cooked. Maybe it has something to do with breaking down cellular components through the heating process. I think there are a few questions still to be answered regarding the mechanism. This appears to be evidence against the notion that raw equals better.

While the raw foodies can certainly consume kale uncooked, I hope they're not doing that with eggs.

Holy shit. I used to drink "egg flips", which were basically cow's milk, white sugar, vanilla essence and a raw egg. Did I dodge many a salmonella-shaped bullet or what!? I won't blame my folks. They were well intentioned and well and truly blindfolded by the egg and dairy industry's lies. Dairy [and eggs] truly is scary.

I forgot to warn you about the pre-recipe rant [again]. Consider this an official apology.

We are all used to having traditional pumpkin soup that's basically cooked and blended pumpkin with some form of cream on top. I have seen popular vegan pumpkin soup recipes use coconut cream as a dairy substitute, and that's fine. Mum served it with sour cream. My vegan version uses cashews for that delightful creaminess for three reasons;

  1. It's vegan.
  2. It's a wholefood.
  3. Cashews do NOT have saturated fat (coconut fat is a culprit).

None of the recipes I've seen use kale. Today was a pioneering breakthrough. Let's rejoice! Hurrah!

Alright. We've had our moment. I added kale. I didn't put penicillin into clinical trials. That thanks goes to Howard Florey, an Australian who has saved an estimated 200 million people with his work. I suddenly feel less important.

It's time to unpack the groceries, get any frozen goods into the freezer, finish up chewing that apple and prime your stoves, people!

The individual gobbly bits [ingredients].

20180513_133630.jpg

  • 1/3 cup raw cashews
  • 1 cup soy mylk (Bonsoy is choice, but $$$)
  • 1 butternut pumpkin [Hayley used the middle for something so technically I used about 3/4 of the pumpkin]
  • 1 tight packed cup of kale
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 tbs of garlic minced or fresh
  • 1/4 tsp ground black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp finely chopped fresh (or powdered) ginger
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tbs hemp meal or flax meal (linseed meal)

Cookin' and blendin' now! [Seriously easy]

  • Add the cashews and soy mylk to the blender and set to speed eleven. You want the cashews to be unrecognisable. Put the hurt on them. Set aside.

20180513_135400.jpg

Unrecognisable cashews. Foam and all.

  • Chop the onion [speed 5 for 3 seconds], add the garlic and ginger and a couple of tbs of cashew/soy mylk mix and saute for a few minutes until translucent and soft.

  • Skin and de-seed the pumpkin, chop it roughly and add to blender with the other ingredients.

  • Tear up the kale, wash it under the tap and add to the mix with the pumpkin, garlic, onion and ginger. Add all other herbs and spices now (except for the hemp meal).

  • Blitz for 20 seconds on speed 9.

  • Add the remaining cashew/soy mylk and another 250 mL of water.

  • Set your thermomix to 100 degrees C and cook for 20 mins on speed 1. If you're using a stove, just cook on high heat covered for 20 minutes until it's all soft and cooked through.

  • If you didn't use a thermomix to cook your veggies, now's the time to pour back into your blender. Crank it up to max for 10 seconds and check your consistency. If you need it smoother, you know what to do.

Almost there!

Pour into a cute soup bowl and sprinkle on your hemp meal. At this stage you could try out a bit of nutritional yeast to give it a nuttier flavour. If you think it isn't salty enough, skip the salt and add a teaspoon of miso paste at a time (to the whole batch, not your bowl) and check the flavour. The salt consumed as miso has benefits and none of the circulatory system associated problems of plain added salt.

20180513_153507.jpg

Whole plant-based food (WFPB) will change you. Embrace the new flavours and your new body.

I've always been thin. No doubt about it. While I could write an entire article about how annoyed I was with everyone telling me I was too skinny, I won't. They know who they are and probably aren't reading this. What a shame. While I was thin as a vegan last year, I still had odd lumps around my middle. Being flabby isn't just something that happens when you hit your thirties.

What I'll say is, you'll tighten up when you go WFPB.

What I mean by that is you'll lose the lumpy bits when you're smashing down fruit, veg, nuts and whole grains. I ditched the white bread and processed crap. Hayley's noticed my [albeit, tiny] pot belly disappear. While I'm not ripped, I've got abdominal definition. This is a person who doesn't do much else than attempt to get to 10k steps a day and do twenty or so push ups daily. I don't even do crunches.

The recipe ended ages ago. What're you still doing reading this part? A Netflix binge session beckons. Go on. Talk to you tomorrow.

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

If you've enjoyed the recipe and have your own to share, please UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND COMMENT.

Disclaimer time;

This article isn't medical advice, was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

However, if your family loves the food, give me the credit.

Sort:  

Hehe loving your writing style! You made my day already and it just started.
You got a new follower by today.

Aw. You're too sweet. I'm chuffed! Well you've made my night!

I'll do my best to give you my best work. I endeavour to get articles out usually at least every other day.

Take care and see you in the next one!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 29 SBD worth and should receive 86 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, I know Wollongong isn't Sydney but I'm head that way next month. I'm wondering if you know any vegan must eat places in Sydney?

Definitely - dinner at Gigi's Pizza at Newtown is a must. There's also Lentil as anything just up the street. Both are amazing. Lentil as Anything is a 'pay what you think' outlet - very socially oriented..so don't expect 5 star meals. They're just wholesome and nourishing.

If you're going to the city, I'd recommend Bodhi restaurant which is yum cha during lunch and a la Carte in the evening. It's a bit pricier, but delicious.

All restaurants I've mentioned are totally vegan.

Which suburb are you going to, exactly?

Cheers,
Nick

I'm staying near Darling harbour but my brother lives in rockDale and I don't mind getting around. I'll definitely have a look at those places.
I think i might have been to a lentil as anything in Melbourne. Alex gow from oh mercy was there. Haha

Yeah, Lentil as anything started in melbourne, I think!

Wow.. pretty cool seeing a celeb! (I'll totally admit I had to google the dude hahaha).

I'll also add Yulli's in Surry Hills. It's been ages since I've been there, but I'm sure the food is still as good as ever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89