Savory Snack: Cauliflower Steaks

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Yes, this recipe is vegan. BUT even your non-vegan friends will enjoy it! Plus, you don't even have to tell this it's vegan. That word seems to automatically turn off a lot of people.

Impressive, easy appetizer to prepare

This recipe is so simple! This is a slight variation of a recipe I found in the book Vegan For Everybody by America's Test Kitchen (absolutely amazing recipe book!!). The sauce is the "hardest" part, but you can make that ahead of time and store it in the fridge. Just blend up some fresh herbs like parsley, mint, cilantro, along with water, olive oil, salt and garlic. Next, cut up a head of cauliflower into steak-like pieces, brush the sides with olive oil, sprinkle with some salt, and pop them into the oven! Flip them after 10 minutes and keep them in for another 8 minutes to let both sides brown. Take them out, drizzle on some sauce, and serve with lemon wedges!

The colorful, mouth-watering end-product

IMG_6361.JPG

PRO-TIP (or maybe just a lazy tip)

Turn. off. your. smoke. alarms!

Note: I say this because to brown the steaks, I turned my oven to 500 degrees Fahrenheit, which promptly set off my alarms... twice. My fix was to disable my smoke alarms, although there are probably safer solutions.

If you end up trying this recipe, please let me know how it goes!

Sort:  

Wish I could cook like this. Whenever I try making something in the kitchen, I end up making a mess. 😞

Baby steps! At one time in my life, my cooking skills were limited to cereal and oatmeal! If this recipe seems too overwhelming, start off with something simpler like pasta, or maybe try looking up quick recipes that don't seem too daunting. In time, your joy for cooking might outweigh your hate for the mess it makes. Plus, if you cook for friends and family, you could always ask them to repay you by doing the dishes ;). Not a bad tradeoff.

Oh yes I want this too! Cauliflower tastes so good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31