First Taste of the Year: Ravishing RhubarbsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

I'm no @papa-pepper or @gardenofeden when it comes to creating amazing things in my garden, but I do have one bailiwick: rhubarb. Delicious, tart red and green streaked rhubarb.

I grew up eating all types of rhubarb dishes. Picture Bubba from Forrest Gump talking about shrimp and substitute in rhubarb and that is me. Rhubarb pie, rhubarb crisp, rhubarb bread, rhubarb cake, rhubarb sauce, rhubarb jam, rhubarb dream dessert... I could go on and on.

When I bought my first house, I naturally planted four hills of rhubarb and they immediately took off. I was able to start harvesting a small amount the second year and have had a bumper crop every year since the third.

While there are myriad dishes that my family uses our rhubarb for, the first stalk is somewhat of a tradition. We eat it raw, save for a dipping bowl of sugar for those that can't handle the tartness.

First I pick out the best stalk I can find.

Then I chop off the leaf and cut down the stalk into smaller sections.

Then it is time for the family to enjoy!

Hope you enjoyed the pictures and if you have any awesome rhubarb recipes, you know that I will give them a try!

Sort:  

Love Rhubarb, my mom makes strawberry Rhubarb pie. You could try and make on as good as hers but you will most likely fail. Lol that is a great amount of Rhubarb you have.

Everybody's mom makes it the best! I like my pie a little tarter than most, so we always leave the strawberry out.

So true! and straight rhubarb is good to im sure it is delicious. Im going to put in a request now for one of my moms pies. Thank you lol

I love rhubarb!

It's the best. Love the versatility.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85