Homemade Sriracha Sauce

in #food7 years ago

WARNING! This recipe is not for the faint of heart, or those with tepid palates. 

1 pound of hot chili peppers (I used a combination of jalepenos, anchos, anaheim, santa fe, & asian)

1 pound of sweet peppers (I used jimmy nardello's) 

4 tsp sunflower oil 

16 cloves of chopped organic garlic

8 tablespoons organic sugar

16 tsp rice vinegar

4 tablespoons fish sauce

2 cups of boiling hot water

Chop up the peppers, carefully! No need to remove the seeds. After all, this is Sriracha Sauce! 

Pro-tip: I would suggest wearing eye protection and gloves while chopping.

 Throw all the ingredients into a cast iron pot (my preference - use what you have) and let it simmer until the peppers are soft. Set aside until cool and then put it into a food processor. Run it until you have a smooth looking Sriracha. 

It works excellent as a dipping sauce, marinade, or flavor enhancer. I love making bbq'd chicken wings with this sauce. It's a winner with my family! 



Sort:  

I definitely want to try this!

If you like hot stuff, this is for you!

I do! I've been away from our place in FL for the summer, but I'll be back soon. We have a habanera plant that gives us tons of peppers that I could use (but not too many, they are SOO hot!).

Wow, this is really hot! Don't think I will try it myself but great to have a recipe of the process. :)X

You never know when might need the recipe to make something hottttttt!

You are so right. Just promoted it on my last post. :)X

Pro-tip: I would suggest wearing eye protection and gloves while chopping.

And have proper ventilation.

That bowl of peppers is making my mouth water and my stomach ache.

Proper ventilation is key! Thank you!

Love love love this! I'm a huge fan of siracha, and have been looking into getting an organic version. But making it myself sounds a whole lot better Thanks for the recipe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64