Teriyaki Stir-Fry [Vegan]

in #food7 years ago

This past Monday was such a rainy, gloomy day that I wanted to end it on a good note with a nice warm bowl of comfort food.

What better way to brighten up the day than with a savoury stir-fry full of crisp, colourful veggies!

This is a delicious dish pairing crunchy vegetables in a flavourful teriyaki sauce with a simple side of rice.

IMG_0374.JPG

To make this stir-fry, you can really use any vegetables on hand. I used a green, a yellow, and a red pepper, as well as carrots, celery, broccoli, and zucchini.

I cut my broccoli into florets, my peppers into strips, and sliced my carrots and celery diagonally. In this particular recipe, I decided to steam all of my vegetables, but you’ll notice that I have not included the zucchini. Steam your vegetables (sans zucchini) until they were tender enough to bite into, but still have a little bit of crunch. Don’t overcook your vegetables, or you will have a sad lifeless stir-fry, just FYI. IMG_0369.JPG Once successfully steamed, add to hot pan with your thinly sliced zucchini, top with the sauce and cook for about 2 minutes.

Add to rice for a quick satisfying meal.

To make the teriyaki sauce, I used:
½ cup soy sauce
1 tbs cornstarch
3 tbs maple syrup
2 tsp ginger
2-3 tbs water from steamed vegetable

IMG_0387.JPG

I heated up the mixture on low, stirring constantly, until thickened into a molasses-type soy sauce caramel.

I added a few peanuts, which I personally felt might not have been needed, in hindsight, but who knows, maybe you will like it!

If you decide to try out this delicious stir-fry, let me know how it turned out, and if you made any substitutions or modifications.

Enjoy :)

Sort:  

Wow that looks absolutely amazing! I have a few friends/family that are vegan and I dabbled in it for a while, still have vegan days! Deff have to try this out soon!

Let me know how it goes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49