Original photos and cake story by @ ndbeledrifts: coconut cake with lemon curd filling and penuche icing

in #food6 years ago

Hey,
Tonight after making dinner I reflected on what to make for dessert and settled on a coconut cake inspired by the layered white cakes I used to bake for the restaurant I worked for Mixed Marriage, around 2011-2012. I knew I had most things I would need except butter, which I substituted with the coconut cream solids at the top of the can of coconut milk I used to flavor the cake and penuche icing. After creaming the coconut cream solids, coconut oil, and sugar, I added the flour baking powder, salt, and then beat 4 egg whites until stiff, and after adding the flour mix to the creamed coconut sugar blend I added milk, then flour mix again. Then I folded in the whites. This recipe is so complex I do it in honor of those cakes I used to bake, they were a pain! All these picky little steps. Well, it's beautiful, also, helping this cake along its biological process, from crumbs of sugar and coconut oil, to the chunky, creamy and then the smooth egg white consistency, it's transformed. Well, I looked online here on steemit for help with what I of do with the egg yolks, you don't want to just throw them away! Well I made some lemon curd with the help of https://steemit.com/recipe/@bitttermelllon/when-it-doubt-bake-a-cake
As usual,steemit saves the day! the icing I made was a drizzled kind that was also composed of coconut milk in substitution for vanilla, and milk, and confectioners sugar. Thanks for reading, and keep on steeming! If you enjoyed my post, please Upvote, resteem, comment, follow :) here's some pics ![image.jpeg]image.jpegimage.jpeg()

Sort:  

Yum yum yum! This reminds me a little bit of one of my favourite cakes!

My grandmother was a French Mauritian woman and she used to make an amazing vanilla layered cake with apricot jam between the layers, covered with Vanilla icing and topped with shredded coconut! I finally perfected the recipe and I make it for my dad when he is missing home!

I have never baked a cake with coconut solids before, it sounds amazing I would love to try out your recipe!

Thank you for sharing! I read sometimes about cakes filled with apricot preserves and I think to myself, "that would be so good!" I have a plan. The next time I see apricots I am determined to hulk it out and get preserving! I think I would toss some apple brandy or calvados rum in that pot of jelly, it's a trick I've used when making apple compote with cinnamon sticks and little clove, little apple brandy, gives it a sour sweet tart spicy thing going on in there. AND when I do, you know that link is coming your way with my steemit post and photos. If only I could send a little spirits with the link. ;) somehow I'll manage ;) 🍸🍸cheers to o you thanks for the comment !

Aw yay! I would love to see that! The sounds absolutely amazing with the apple brandy!

I'm so glad I could help you out! It looks like it turned out really well - and the coconut cream idea was genius!

Thank you ! fun stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71103.43
ETH 3849.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51