Healthy Electrolyte Drink Recipe- Tastes like Healthy Gatorade!

in #food8 years ago

I love the flavor, especially, since it tastes like a healthy Lemon-Lime Gatorade! Being paleo and unable to handle carbonated drinks, I needed something else to drink. But, I had requirements such as only using honey as a sweetener seeing as it burns off slower, meaning I avoid the sugar rush and crash. Also, wanted extra health benefits, so I added aloe leaf juice, apple cider vinegar, and a little ginger juice. So here's the recipe.

Naturalista's Healthy Electrolyte Drink: Lemon- Lime Base Flavor
2oz Aloe Leaf Juice
2T ACV
1t ginger juice
1 Lemon
1/2-1 Lime
1t salt
1/4-1/3c honey
20-27oz filtered water (depends on if you add anything else like fruit or spices)
Optional: No more than 1/3-1/2 c of fruit or spices

Black Cherry Raspberry Lemon Lime Flavor

If using fruit, best to set to pull out nutrients, then filter and toss fruit.

I tend to mix all ingredients together except for the water to help mix the honey in. Then add the mix to the 33oz glass bottle. Once the honey in incorporated into the warming water, I remove from heat and add to the glass container.

Sore throat, cold, flu... Enjoy still warm, it helps hydrate cells quicker because of the salt, as well as make it easier to break up phlegm.

OR

Just enjoy as your new healthy drink!
Cold or Warm.

#Health
#Drinks
#Paleo
#Food
#Recipes
#Organic

Naturalista <3

Sort:  

Nice post! I actually only tried Gatoride once way back in the 70's and it was disgusting. Your drink looks good and for SURE it's healthier!

i will test it at home. Thank you for sharing with us

This sounds like a great drink! Here in the Midwest we've had not only heat but a lot of humidity this summer. Staying hydrated is pretty difficult. I like the combo of ginger, lemon and lime. I've never tried aloe leaf juice. I'll have to look into that one. ACV is an amazing ingredient! It's used for so many things: treating sore throats, stomach problems, to lower cholesterol, boost energy etc. Anyway excellent electrolyte drink. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Great recipe, I'm gonna try this out and may add a pinch of sea salt as well. Also, just want to add that your complexion is glowing. :)

I love me some ACV so I'll try this out. ACV has helped me lose almost 20 pounds in the last 8 months....

Hi. Just less sugar and take good oils can lose your weight? I really like this post and am interested in knowing more. How much did you take for good fat? I post however no commemt so i post comment here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34