Life is all about experiences shared and memories made

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today, I would like to share an experience…………..

A special occasion saw us eating out at the Jamie Oliver restaurant in Melrose Arch, Johannesburg, South Africa.

Jamie Olivers restaurant Melrose Arch.jpg
Image source

Having heard mixed comments about this particular restaurant, I realised that in life, people probably speak of me in the same manner. I have heard the same comment more than three times already – I don’t want to meet my role model as I have always been let down in person compared to that of what I have read and heard.

I have never really had an interest in cooking and have always said that I would need to find someone in life that would cook well and enjoy it. I tend to need to have a passion or the drive to do something as I am sure many of us require to do things in life. I have learned along the way that buying ready-made food every day takes quite a lot of money and in this manner, it has once again proven that although we are not passionate about something or not interested in something, it might still be one of the best things to actually do. Yes, I have tested this theory – at one point in my life, I had no idea how I was going to get through without money, how would I pay my bills and get through each month. I decided to cut down on eating. I unfortunately did not lose much weight, however, eating a meal every third or fourth day saved a lot of money.

So, to be healthier and save some money, when I started to earn a little again, cooking became something I started learning to do and especially when I did not feel like it. This brings about a feeling of self-accomplishment which is something that keeps me going and striving. I thrive off setting goals and dreams and achieving them.

Positive saying.jpg
Image source

I had a wonderful experience. For a crazily busy and popular restaurant, we experienced a speedy service, a beautiful plate over and over, the opportunity to order drinks that were not the usual. An experience that will definitely see that we return for another occasion.
Image source

Our waiter made us feel special, it was professional and for what many people might criticise and say is of International standard, I have to disagree just a little. We had a South African waiter, the vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked and there is tons of meat on the menu – something you will definitely not find too much of in Europe. My experience as an athlete includes ordering a 200g piece of meat in Italy for just over R1000 ($72). South Africa was incorporated and that says a lot about the brand of a restaurant. The couple at the table opposite us had the elderly gentleman on his phone for the whole meal and the elderly lady staring into space. A promise was made then and there, that this would never be me.
However, I am digressing a little from my topic and in actual fact could write about this topic another day.

No matter where I am, where I go, where my life takes me, I learn lessons!

Positive message.jpg

Image source

Sort:  

@ natsdutoit I find myself in your post! thank u for sharing!

@alexandraioana thank you. Always challenging having so much to say but so little space ;-) thank you for reading my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34