Homemade burgers with sunny side up eggs

in #food7 years ago

Hi Steamit,
I haven't posted in a while, but I wanted to share with you my recipe for these delicious burgers I made last night.

IMG_1098.JPG

I started with some low fat, high quality grass-fed ground beef. Mine was 3% fat, but anything less than 10 is pretty good. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, turmeric, cumin, paprika and allspice. Don't be afraid of being a little heavy handed with the spices, beef can handle it. I then mixed in an egg yolk (saving the white for breakfast the next day) and set it aside.
IMG_1093.JPG

In a large frying pan, I cooked some diced onion and minced garlic in olive oil until they caramelized.

IMG_1092.JPG

Once they were cooked, I added them to the ground beef + spice mixture. The cooked onions add a ton of moisture and make the burgers really juicy while the garlic adds amazing flavor. I highly recommend making your burgers like this.

IMG_1094.JPG

In total, I had about 1 pound of meat, so I divided it into 4 equal patties, you can make yours larger or smaller depending on preference. Once they were formed, I added them to the same skillet the onions and garlic had cooked in, for extra flavor.

IMG_1095.JPG

Once they were cooked to my desired doneness (medium, in this case), I took them off the heat and toasted the buns in the same pan (without cleaning it in between). This step is awesome because the buns soak up any of the meaty flavor left behind.

IMG_1096.JPG

Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of this step, but while the burgers were cooking, I made some sunny side up eggs, so as soon as the burgers came off the pan, I plopped those on top.

Here's the final product:
IMG_1097.JPG

One of the things I love about using a sunny side up egg is that it adds amazing flavor and tons of nutritious value without the need for cheese, which I try not to eat too much of.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your favorite twist on this American classic in the comments below. If you liked my recipe and want to see more like it, please up-vote and follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50