myday #39 - Strawberries, Nutella and Marshmallows! I Found The Perfect Crepe!

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemit Followers!


Pardon My French


The smells coming from the little South Yarra shop were too good to pass up. I wandered in, hungry... and I think that was my first mistake.

DSCF5741.jpg

DSCF5761.jpg

DSCF5748.jpg

I got chatting to the owner of the business who explained about his recent relocation from the markets to trendy shop front. His eyes were full of excitement, so much so that I couldn't help but ask what his speciality dish was.

DSCF5765.jpg

DSCF5760.jpg

'Crepes with Nutella, strawberries and marshmallows' he replied, pointing to the arrangement of cooking tools and fresh produce. I had to try one!

DSCF5741.jpg

I ask if it would be okay to take some photos and explained I would be happy for him to use them for his business for no charge at all. A few seconds in, I showed him the back of my cameras screen and he mentioned he would be happy to make a number of different crepes for me to taste for no charge if I was able to photograph them.

DSCF5750.jpg

This is what I love about photography. I'm not one for charging people as I make money commercially from my photographs through various stock agencies. I'm just happy to help out when I can, plus I really enjoy taking photos!

The master chef quickly got to work pouring fresh thick batter over the hot stove top. Using his special t-shaped spreading tool he twisted it around the edge of the stove top, spreading the mixture evenly into a large round circle.

DSCF5690.jpg

After letting the mixture cook for a short time, he used a long metal spatular blade to lift the wafer thin crepe into the air, turning it to the rhythm of the French music playing in the background. It was sort of a food ballet mixed with artistic flair.

DSCF5704.jpg

Next came the assortment of fresh fruits and ingredients. The colorful strawberries took their place before being smothered with Nutella (a hazelnut spread) and surrounded by melting marshmallows.

DSCF5741.jpg

At the same time he had different flavour assortments on the go. There was a egg, ham and cheese one; a strawberry, banana and Nutella concoction and another popular one - freshly squeezed lemon and sugar with a topping of icing sugar.

DSCF5706.jpg

DSCF5693.jpg

DSCF5723.jpg

DSCF5699.jpg

Once the parcels of goodness had finished cooking and their melting ingredients began to ooze, he carefully wrapped them up in to a triangle shape and presented them on a plate. I took a few more photos before I devoured so of them, with another customer who was presently surprised at the sign of some free crepes.

DSCF5670.jpg

DSCF5710.jpg

DSCF5719.jpg

I must say I left a very happy customer and the owner of Pardon My French in South Yarra, Melbourne welcomed me back at any time. I'm yet to take him up on his word, however I did send the images through to him and he loved them which was a bonus!

When was the last time you tried a crepe?


Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.jpg

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


Recommended Reading


Sort:  

Did you know if you ask for the batter with buckwheat, you will get the crispy crepes....TSK TSK

I did not

the shots are freaking nice

Yum, and this blog looks perfect!

You enjoy making us drool, right?!

Haha yep that's my goal! Thanks for commenting!

That looks divine! I love the photos and wouldn't mind a trip to try a crepe!

They certainly were divine @wandrnrose7! Certainly worth many trips

No doubt. Such a long way off....I wonder if it's something we can have here.

Wow, I love crepe. Who doesn't?
Very nice pictures. :-)

Yummy! Are the pink and white stuff mashmellow?

Yes that is correct!

Yum... delicious!

They certainly wete

Haha nice reaction :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51