My simple to make #6: Ugali, Mboga Kienyeji(managu, kunde and terere) , and wet fried beef

in #food7 years ago

Welcome to another food post. Today I had a few visitors over in my house. Their visit was a surprise and a welcome one at that. we ended up talking and laughing a lot. Reminiscing old memories in campus, and life looking for work. The visit was worth it.

Deciding on what to serve to my friends

I suspect I get most of this visits because I would not go to where they are and because I can prepare a decent meal. Today was no different, I did not want to disappoint. Since it was not a planned visit I need to make something simple, delicious, balanced and fast at the same time. Ugali takes 20 mins to be ready on sifted maize flour, while cooking beef would take around 30 mins if it is not tender. As for the vegetables 10 mins is more than enough.

Another factor, All kenyans love this meal. It is one of the meals you learn to make. ANd if you get very good at it you can get away with making it at every small occasion. Last year we had a huge problem with maize flour scarcity, I guess you get my point.

With the meal plan ready, time to start it. I had everything in the house but the beef. Lucky the local butchery opens even on Sunday. 1kg of beef and we are ready to go.

Step #1: Ingredients

  1. Maize flour
  2. Beef
  3. Mixed kienyeji Vegetables( Managu, Kunde, terere) Usually steamed before
  4. 6 medium sized Tomatoes
  5. Mixed peppers
  6. Avocados
  7. Fresh Coriander leaves
  8. Two large onions
  9. Salt
  10. Black Pepper
  11. Buttermilk (mala)
  12. Beef stock cubes

Method #1: Ugali

We are making this for five people:

  1. Add 1 litre of water into a cooking pot.
  2. Bring to a boil
  3. Add flour and stir continuously ensuring to break up all the lumps, You will need to hold the cooking pot tightly as it becomes thicker than mashed potatoes.
  4. When all lumps are broken cook for about three minutes on low heat, you can cover it or not. Then stir again. repeat this for around 4 times. Then shape it to a shape you like for easy removal from the pan. We do a ball.
  5. After this it is hot, turn it up to a plate and cover with the pot as you cook the rest of the meal. Covering keeps it hot and also allows it to continue cooking with the steam.

Method #2: Beef

  1. I love to start with boiling the meat. so boil it in a cup of water with two beef stock cubes till the water dries on high heat.
  2. Add cooking oil at this point and onions and stir , cook for around 3 minutes. Here I love to put the largest onions, I will also add leek if it is available. A point to note if your beef was not lean like I like mine to be, please skip the adding oil. You do not need oil if the beef already had its oil.
  3. Add four medium sized tomatoes , blended. stir and cook for five minutes covered.
  4. Stir and add add black pepper and salt to taste.
  5. Add mixed peppers, I like to do this at the end as I like them crunchy. Cook for one minute on low heat and turn off the heat.
  6. You can add coriander or add it while plating.

Method #3: Mixed vegetables (Kienyeji )

  1. Saute the remaining onions in a small cooking pot
  2. Add the two remaining tomatoes.
  3. Add quarter cup butter milk
  4. Add two beef stocks
  5. Stir and cook for 3 minutes covered on medium heat.
  6. Add the steamed vegetables and keep stirring for 3-4 minutes on low heat.
  7. Turn down the heat and serve

Serving

On a plate cut a piece of Ugali, A serving spoon of greens, two serving spoons of beef. At this point you can garnish with coriander if you didn't put it in the pot. Add your avocado slices on the side.

Serve this meal hot, and enjoy

Ensuring you get the best meal out of this

Beef takes the longest to cook, so start with that. While halfway through the process start your ugali and You can do the greens when all the others are done. If however you like to multitask like I do. Just before you remove the Ugali start the veges. This ensures that you can serve the meal hot. It is sweetest when served hot.

Enjoy

Kindly look at my previous post here I am running a food contest and I have not had any participants yet. Anyone is welcome to join. Closes on Tuesday

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe



APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

It must be fun having a friend like you! I just clicked on the link to the food contest (don't know how I missed it) and will participate before the deadline though I really suck at explaining stuff.

You should

Looks delish!! Im sure they enjoyed :)

Yes they did. They want to come around every weekend now

Haha! I bet!

Being A Luhya and the mention of Ugali itself makes me feel so at home you have my upvote asap.
I wanna write something about Chicken culture you can be my guests too.

Mnyaa yiive nu witu mwene. Ahitu ni ha Vihiga yaha

Okay. Someone just made a connection here. Uhoro wanyu. Muroiga kii ma riu?

healthy as well, loving your recipes lately.

Try out the ones you like. They will not disappoint

That is my food

Awesome, my all time favorite.

That is good to know

Good healthy and balanced food. Chef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45