Lessons From My mother #3: An easy to make recipe Vegetables and Black beans stew served with rice: Very delicious.

in #food6 years ago

After the holidays, stepping on the weighing scale will most of the times throw one away. In kenya we have a saying. December is the month to eat with no care and worry about the consequences later. I have never bought into that saying. To me it is just not right.

What I do for exercise

In 2015 I developed an exercise routine that enabled me to reach my ideal weight and remain at it. The routine was running. I would run three times a week for 10km each time. Running was like a drug and I really enjoyed it. especially at the end. There was always that feeling like one is high. Spirits are up and you feel like you can take on any mountain. No one would take this away from me. I was in love with it.

It was not to remain however, In September of last year I got an injury on my leg. Running became a pain and I had to stop. Right before the holidays. I have to say at this point, I gain weight pretty fast and lack of a constant routine for two months would take me back where I had started before. And so this happened and in January when I went for my medical check up. Stepping on the weighing scale I almost had a heart attack. I understood why clothes jad become tight. Why my auntie's greetings at the New Year's eve lunch was "what are you eating? Punguza tafadhali" Here I was thinking she was just meddling. A whopping 10 kg added and not prego. I have surely seen crazier things. What did I eat? Maybe I swallowed a goat.

Immediate Action

There is no way I am changing my wardrobe. This was my first thought.
You need to start exercising and for heaven's sake see a nutritionist. Whatever, you are eating is not doing you any good. The consecutive thoughts.

I have since lost three kilos, changed diet and joined the gym. In my diet I reduced sugar, reduced red meat, increased vegetables , reduced carbs.

Recipe #1: Mom's Famous black beans stew with a twist

This dish serves two. Make as much rice as you want. For me I had to make just little.

Ingredients

As can be seen from the photos

  1. 1 cup black beans
  2. Mixed peppers, each halfed
  3. Leak
  4. 1 carrot
  5. 1 Onion
  6. Black pepper/cayene (optional)
  7. salt to taste
  8. Butter or cooking oil
  9. Chicken or beef stock(optional)
  10. 1 Chopped tomato
  11. Cooking cream/coconut cream/milk (optional)

Method

  1. Dice as in the picture

  1. In a large skillet/ cooking pot melt add three spoons of cooking oil over medium-low heat. Add the chopped onion and leek. Cook, covered, for 3 minutes or until the onions are tender, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the chopped tomato. (You can blend this to reduce the cooking time) Allow it to cook completely for 3 minutes, you can add little water so that it doesn't stick to the sides.
  3. Add stock
  4. Add carrots
  5. Add the black beans
  6. Add a cup of water. You can add cooking cream, coconut cream or milk at this point to add flavour. Add salt to taste.
  7. Cover the pot and cook for 10 minutes constantly stirring
  8. Add the chopped mixed peppers and cook for 2 minutes
  9. The stew is ready after this.

Serving

The following is a plate for two. Serve hot

Enjoy

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe



APP.png

Sort:  

looks delish!!!!

Mafans wa Njahe! Thanks for this delicacy @mutitum

Yes, I have some leftovers. Anyone can drop by

Looks delicious, am hungry now.

Did you get some food. I just got into the kitchen you could come for some. Lol

I want this food. I need to make this sometime this week.

Share with us the outcome. That is a challenge

I love black beans a lot! Besides keeping your weight in check, working out is lots of fun and has numerous other advantages. Keep it up.

You have no idea. I have made so many friends. I feel so energetic and get to achieve alot.

Looks delicious . Njahi is my favourite

Yes this dish is. Try it sometime

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Oh, that looks so good! My problem is that I would eat that entire plate made for two! LOL :D

This is very delicious and filling. But I agree with you. One could easily eat the whole plate

Yummy yummy! Your mom is a heroine

Wow!!! I'm already salivating. The meal what dying for. I wish I could have some right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97