Reduced Carb Meal Ideas

in #food8 years ago (edited)

IMG_0935.JPG

Body Havoc

My little one is now six months old. She's my third baby and although giving birth to her was a beautiful experience, it has wreaked havoc on my body. Much more so than my first and second babies. It's probably due to the fact that I'm older now, I have less time and energy to work out and my stomach muscles are practically dead.

Clean Eating

So despite the odds being stacked against me being on a Sports Illustrated cover, I'm trying my best to live a healthy lifestyle and get back into shape. Since the beginning of the year I've cleaned up my diet and most days I have a carb curfew. I eat sensible meals which include carbs in the daytime and eat reduced carb meals after 5pm. I did this with my first two babies and managed to get back into shape within 9 months to a year.

Family Friendly Eating

Being a busy mum of three I have to prepare meals for a family of five, which includes some very fussy kids and a husband who thinks a meal isn't worth eating if it doesn't contain meat! I don't have time to prepare a different dinner for myself and I think it's better if the whole family eats the same meal. I've just started the baby on solids and where possible I give her a mashed up no-salt version of whatever the rest of us are eating. Constantly thinking of the next nutritious meal to make can get boring and you can run out of ways to make it interesting.

Healthy Meal Ideas

So for any of you who are also trying to cut back on carbs but still want to enjoy tasty and varied meals, here are some ideas. They are all meals that I've been eating over the last two months. Apart from the lightly dusted fish fillets, all meals were prepared from scratch by me and I used healthy fats (coconut oil or olive oil), a range of vegetables and protein. All the meals are low on carbs but big on flavour.

Clockwise from top left hand corner,

Pan fried salmon teriyaki with courgetti, baby corn and roasted tomatoes:


IMG_0361.JPG


Coconut milk prawn curry on a bed of stir fried vegetables:


IMG_0548.JPG


Lightly dusted baked cod fillet with roasted vegetables and baby leaf salad:


IMG_0485.JPG


Chickpea curry, spiced green beans and mixed salad:


IMG_0531.JPG


Asparagus and spinach frittata, peri peri mixed beans and tomatoes:


IMG_0364.JPG


Chicken satay with courgetti and stir fried vegetables:


IMG_0452.JPG


Warm salad of roasted vegetables and puy lentils topped with avocado and feta cheese:


IMG_0380.JPG


Lamb curry, red lentil dahl, spiced spinach and tofu and a side salad:


IMG_0517.JPG


Roasted pepper stuffed with keema (spicy mince lamb with peas), alloo gobi (potato and cauliflower curry) and side salad:


IMG_0486.JPG


With love

MummyIP x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46