Nutritious Granola - My Step by Step Healthy Recipe

in #food7 years ago

2015-07-06_10.35.48[1].JPG

Great for breakfast or a healthy snack

I always thought that granola and granola bars were super healthy.....until I checked the sugar content! They are packed full of sugar and sometimes lots of butter too! A couple of years ago I had a go at making my own granola, a low in refined sugar, low fat version. I've never eaten shop-bought granola again and I make sure I always have a batch of this granola in my cupboard. It's great for breakfast or as a healthy snack and is full of goodness - oats, nuts and seeds. Here is my step by step easy recipe:

Ingredients

300g Oats
50g sunflower seeds
50g pumpkin seeds
50g desiccated coconut
100g nuts of your choice (roughly chopped)
100g dried berries/sultanas/raisins
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp maple syrup/golden syrup
2 tbsp honey
1 tsp vanilla extract

Step 1

2015-07-20_13.29.24[1].JPG

Make sure you chop the nuts.I chop them quite chunky for a better texture. I also find that hazelnuts work really well in this recipe as they taste delicious when toasted. It really depends on whatever I have in the cupboard though. Mix all these dry ingredients together.

Step 2

2015-07-21_11.28.29[1].JPG

Add all the liquid ingredients to a small pan and heat gently until all of them melt a little and combine together.

Step 3

2015-07-21_11.33.28[1].JPG

Pour the warmed liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients bowl and mix thoroughly.

Step 4

2015-07-21_11.49.11[1].JPG

Spread the mixture on a baking tray and bake in the over at 160 degrees for 20 minutes. Halfway through the cooking time take out the tray and give it a mix so that the granola is evenly browned. As soon as the granola is done and looks golden brown, remove it from the oven and add in the dried fruits. Give it a mix and leave to cool.

2015-07-21_11.54.22[1].JPG

Step 5

2015-07-21_17.44.02[1].JPG

When the granola is completely cool, store in an airtight container. It usually keeps well for around 2 weeks.

Healthy breakfast idea

Before I leave you to try out this recipe, here is a little idea for a healthy and delicious breakfast, or snack.

2015-07-06_10.34.55[1].JPG

2015-07-14_14.10.46[1].JPG

In my experience having healthy but satisfying food options like this in your home stop your reaching for cookies and crisps when hunger pangs strike!

Bon Appetit!

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

And am l invited anyway?lol...thanks for sharing this recipe

Mmm...looks so tasty.
Someday.. I will try to make this.
Thank you for receipt. :)
Because I love healthy food and if I make myself and this manage well, then I am so happy..
Thank you :)

I kike it. I eat granola covered with chocolate

Excelente receta y muy saludable. Ideal para desayuno y merienda . Gracias por compartir @mummyimperfect

this breakfast very delicious. Thanks for share this healthy breakfast recipe.

Congratulations @mummyimperfect! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

It surely have to be sweet @mummyimperfect

Good nice post you

I like it

That looks soooo delicious... the best recipe of the day right here

Thanks for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55