Kombucha brewing starts today!

in #food7 years ago

I enjoy lightly sweetened, carbonated beverages and I enjoy drinking tea - so naturally I love KOMBUCHA! Buuuuuut it’s expensive, $3-4 for a small bottle. So I finally decided it was time for me to start brewing kombucha at home.

As I am new to this, I followed this handy post to learn about SCOBY and how to make kombucha (great information, how to, and tips and tricks): http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-kombucha-tea-at-home-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-173858

20170717_081936.jpg

Here’s what I used for my first batch...
SCOBY: received from a friend
Starter Tea: store-bought KOMBUCHA brand organic & raw - original
Tea: Khongea Assam black loose leaf tea, recommendation from the local tea shop
Sugar: with my massive muffin making habit, I happen to have 10 lbs of sugar hanging around
Ball 1 gal glass jar: $12 at Target

The key magical ingredient to making kombucha is SCOBY (Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast). A few of my friends already brew their own kombucha and were more than happy to set me up with some magical SCOBY . My brother-in-law once tried to eat it - I would not recommend that, it looks like a gross chicken breast or alien limb.

20170720_123128.jpg

One big thing I had to take into consideration is the temperature to brew kombucha. My Sacramento apartment gets quite hot (up to 100 degrees) and I just can’t justify running the A/C all day, not even for my kombucha (should be at room temp, 65-85 degrees). My kombucha is currently residing in my work’s kitchen, where it’s climate controlled.

20170717_122946.jpg

STEEMIT Community: What kinds of flavoring should I use??
Follow @muffintuesday and check back in about 7 days to see how the first batch turned out!

Sort:  

I have friends that say they like this stuff, but Ive never tried it.

It's not for everyone (I have friends that don't like it, or even don't like tea), but it's worth a try!

OooO I heard green tea jasmine is good. :)

This stuff is awesome! I recently had a dental operation and was prescribed a weeks worth of antibiotics to fight off infection. I could tell it was destroying my good stomach bacteria, I felt drain and was suffering from digestive issues. I was sure to drink plenty of kombucha to help remedy my poor body. After finishing the round of antibiotics I kept drinking it and only a few days after I was feeling better than new!

Great post, enjoy the help benefits :)

Thank you! I'm excited to drink more of it now that brewing my own is more affordable!

Kombucha Brewing is really hot right now. I don't know if I have the skills or the patience for it though.

Brewing is not for everyone, it does take a bit of time and love!

This is so inspiring because I've been slacking on my kombucha lately. I need to go give it some luuuuuuuuuuuuv.

Yes it needs a bit of love to taste good and keep brewing!

Good for you brewing the good stuff . I'm a big fan of kombucha as well. I only wish I was more diligent at stopping my culture on time. Many times I end up with a vinegar like beverage that probably upsets my stomach more than helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87