Turkey Sausage and Pepper FrittatasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It's a cold, snowy day here at home. The road conditions are bad enough that my office is closed for the day, so I've got the day off. I've been trying to cook more since @donvee does most of the cooking in our house and I do most of the baking, so today I used my free time to make a frittata.

I wanted a high protein breakfast that would keep me full for hours. I used chopped up turkey sausage, but you can replace this with ham, bacon, or extra vegetables and make it vegetarian.

Frittatas are so easy and they'll feed you for the better part of a week. Feel free to add or omit any of the vegetables. Next time I think I will replace the cheddar cheese with feta and add some spinach.

IMG_20180207_154312397.jpg

Ingredients:
1 onion
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic
8 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
Salt and pepper to taste
1 yellow bell pepper
1 package of turkey sausage (14 breakfast links)
5oz cheddar cheese
1 tomato

Heat olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat, then add the onion and garlic. Saute for about 5 minutes. Add the chopped turkey sausage and cook through. Add the bell pepper.

In a large mixing bowl, wisk together the eggs and milk. Add salt and pepper, then stir in the cheddar cheese.

Pour the egg mixture into the skillet. Top with sliced tomatoes (and more shredded cheese, if you like). Pop the cast iron skillet into the oven and bake at 350° for about 45 minutes, or until it looks set. I like my cheese a little well done and keep it in there until it's lightly browned.

I put the recipe into the MyFitnessPal app and divided it into 6 servings. Here's the nutritional information:

Screenshot_20180207-174316~2.png

I hope you enjoyed my post. Let me know in the comments if you tried my recipe and what changes you made 🥚

Sort:  

@donvee told me to check it out so I did haha

Great idea putting it in your myfitnesspal app to show basic nutritional facts! Looks yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29