Creamy Fish Tacos

in #food6 years ago (edited)

G’day eaters!
Are you ready for another installment of “Kara cooks fish”?

Yup, I’m on a roll.

But this wasn’t just momentous because I cooked fish again. No, this was momentous because I got over my weird aversion to mixing fish and dairy.

Yes eaters, in my mind fish and dairy just don’t go together. (I’m not counting butter.)

I have no clue why this is. I could say it has something to do with the fact that a long time ago, when I was first getting into cooking, I watched some restaurant rescue-type show and everyone was aghast that they were serving shark with mozzarella and ever since then it’s been burned in my mind.

But I highly doubt that’s it.

Whatever the cause, though, for years I’ve been telling waiters to leave the cheese off my fish tacos. And while this isn’t exactly a fish quesadilla, it’s dairy and fish, so I’m counting it. 

          Creamy Fish Tacos

  •  ~0.5lbs/0.25kg white fish such as tilapia
  •  ½ c Greek yogurt*
  •  1 lime, juiced
  •  1 T (smoked) paprika
  •  ½ t cumin
  •  ¼ c cilantro, chopped
  •  tortillas 
  •  toppings
  •  I used FAGE fat free. 

In an oven safe dish, mix together the yogurt, lime juice, spices, and cilantro.

Chop the fish into small pieces, about ½” cubes. Add the fish to the yogurt mixture, give everything a good stir to coat, and leave to marinate for about half an hour.

Give the dish another good stir and then put it in a 200C/400F oven. Cook for a total of 30 minutes, stirring about half way through.

Feel free to serve these with whatever accoutrements you want.

I suggest a corn tortilla. And then I suggest you line that corn tortilla with a large piece of lettuce. This is some creamy fish and you don’t want your tortilla to fall apart in your hand. 


From there, the toppings are up to you.

I suggest some red cabbage, for crunch and color. You might also want to go ahead and sauté up an onion and jalapeño, for some spice. Don’t be afraid to be a little heavy handed with the heat, because dairy calms the effects of capsaicin. 

And then, if you can get your hands on some, I think a schmear of chipotle ketchup is in order. And maybe some green ‘basco sauce, for a little zip to compliment the zip of the lime. 



Or, you can keep it simple with salsa, lettuce, and cheese.

I don’t recommend that last one, though. Dairy and fish just don’t mix, haven’t you heard? :)

Sort:  

Something my mom always says, dairy and fish don't go together. But I always wondered why!

That looks lovely and tasty :)

Yes it is :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97