Homemade Crispy Crunchy Potato Chips Anyone?

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Ok, Ok, Ok I know what you are thinking, if I want a bag of chips I will just buy them at the store. LOL, well that can be said about most foods that you make at home. With that said, there is something very rewarding when you make your own homemade crispy potato chips. Also, you know exactly what is in them, for one thing, no preservatives! I am not super health conscious, so that is not necessarily my reason. I just think it is plain awesome making chips at home. And they taste amazing. They are very easy to make, if I can make them, you can make them. Let's get frying!

Don't forget to follow me, upvote, and re-steem. :)

If you have any questions, comments, or requests, please put them down below and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

chips ingredients.JPG

Print the recipe here: https://inthekitchenwithmatt.com/thin-crispy-potato-chips/snacks/

Ingredients:
Potatoes (I use Russets, washed and peeled if you like)
Cold water (for soaking)
2 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. distilled white vinegar
Water (for boiling)
Oil for frying, 48 ounces (I use canola oil or peanut oil, vegetable and coconut will work great too)

Tools:
Mandolin Slicer: http://amzn.to/2eXzepX
Candy thermometer: http://amzn.to/2eY7bXu
Pots
Bowls
Paper Towel/Kitchen Paper
Slotted spoon
Plate or baking sheet

Step 1: Add salt to COLD water in a large bowl.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.02.50 AM.png

Step 2: Slice potatoes really thin. (Wash your potatoes, peel them if desired)
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.04.13 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.04.45 AM.png

Step 3: Add water to a large pot and add vinegar. Then bring the water to a boil.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.05.44 AM.png

Step 4: Bowl potatoes for 3 to 4 minutes. Place on paper towel to dry when done.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.06.50 AM.png

Step 5: Heat oil to 325 and Fry the potatoes! Use spoon to keep them from crowding. When bubbles subside and they are nice and blonde, they are done.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.08.18 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.08.29 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.08.47 AM.png

Step 6: Place on paper towel lined plate and salt as desired.
Screen Shot 2017-09-14 at 10.09.24 AM.png

The video and images are my own original content. :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think homemade is so much healthy!!! Thanks for sharing the secret!

Thank you! You are very welcome! Glad you liked it. :)

Awesome! you must be a hit at parties. "wait you want some chips? I'll be right back" In comes hot crispy potato chips!

hahaha yeah I do have fun at parties! Sometimes I go all out! lol For my birthday party a few weeks ago I spent 1.5 days cooking and baking for it! It was epic!

I can just imagine haha!!!

:) Also once a year at my brothers house we do a big medieval style feast and I usually bring lots of cool things there too. haha good times!

I'm coming damn it. That's too much fun!

hahahaha yeah it is a blast!!! :)

Another of my favourite foods!!

Will try the recipe soon!!

Thank you, @mrchef111 !!

Thank you!! Awesome yes give them a try and let me know how they turn out! :) I really like these chips! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45