Raspberry Coconut Sllice

in #food5 years ago

During Vacation Care the kids get a few more ‘treat’ type snacks than they normally would during the school term. I also like to use this as an opportunity to try out new recipes and see if there’s anything else I can incorporate into the regular meal planning.

This time I tried out a Raspberry and Coconut Slice, which turned out to be quite easy to do and the kids loved it…not one for the regular list though, our Nutrition Policy doesn’t cover us for that much sugar!

I found the recipe in a magazine my sister-in-law lent me, first thing I needed to do was preheat the oven but as our oven is not exactly what you would call state-of-the-art (by that I mean the heat doesn’t distribute evenly throughout and it can’t hold a stable temperature for more than an hour or so at best) I chucked it straight on max temperature in the hope that if it fizzled out on me there would be enough residual heat to finish them off.

I used slightly larger trays (didn’t have the exact size the recipe called for) but I figured that seeing as I was running a little bit late to get the afternoon tea out, the larger trays would work well – I could make the slice thinner so it would cook quicker, then I would put it in the fridge on a chopping board so as not to melt the fridge and it would cool quicker and my chances of not being quite so late should improve somewhat…..that was the theory anyway!

So, ingredients all mixed up – easy…
Trays layered with biscuit base, jam and coconut topping – took a bit longer than expected but did it well and will quicken with experience…

Oven preheated ready for quick cooking time – yeah, maybe a little too much! I should’ve watched the time a bit closer here – increased temperature and thinner slice means CHANCE OF BURNING INCREASES!

Well I didn’t quite burn them, (not far off though) was just really well done.

I got them straight in the fridge and was able to give them about 15 minutes to cool which was nearly enough time. I cut them still a little soft and warm but the kids loved them.

I took a few leftover pieces home and by the time I ate them they had cooled completely and the jam had become deliciously sticky. Will definitely be trying those again, but watching the clock a bit closer obviously!

Sort:  

Amazing talents, especially working with a contrary oven like that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh shucks...gee thanks 😁 kinda feel like am taking advantage for too much credit the recipe was so simple!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70