Lasagna of the gods pt2 Bechamel sauce, rich, decadent, 100% Vegan and a winner with everyone.

in #food6 years ago (edited)

OK, so of the GODS might seem a little dramatic but if you haven't tried this lasagna recipe you have been missing out! This is a decadent, rich and flavoursome meal that the whole family will love! Its a big recipe so I will be breaking it down into 3 parts. So stay tuned!
This is part 2, if you missed part 1 you can find that In my first post.

So Belchamel sauce or white sauce is traditional made from a roux and dairy milk. As this is a Vegan recipe we have to think outside of the box. We wont be using any dairy, but we also wont be using an egg lasagne sheet either. I have a wonderful way for you to have the tastes you know and a little extra decadence for the heck of it.

This belchamel sauce is so rich it needs its own security!

Ingredients

50 ml White truffle olive oil
3 Tbs plain white flour
2 Tbs Nooch or nutritional yeast to the unfamiliar
1 litre of your choice of milk I used Oat as it has a nice neutral flavour.
1 Tsp Black salt (this gives the whole dish a real egg pasta flavour)
1 Tsp Black pepper

Method

  • Take a sauté pan and add the white truffle olive oil, nooch and the flour and combine with a whisk over a medium heat.

IMAG1364.jpg

  • Add the milk about 200 ml at a time and combine until its all gone.
  • Add the black salt and black pepper and mix in well, keep on the heat for about 10 min in total and stir well.
    You should have the same consistency as below....

IMAG1365.jpg

Pour into a jug for ease of pouring in the lasagna tray.

On to the lasagna!

To make the lasagna take a large oven proof dish, grease the bottom with a little olive oil. I recommend heating the bolognese as it makes it much easier to spread it out. You can also remove the bay leaves now too, they have done their job.

IMAG1366.jpg

Then spread 1 layer of bolognese, a layer of bechamel sauce (about 1/4 of the jug) then a layer of lasagne sheets.

IMAG1369.jpg

I always make this with 3 layers. then once the final layer of lasagne sheets are on I top with the remaining bechamel sauce.

IMAG1371.jpg

Cover with foil and place in a preheated 180 Deg C oven and bake for 20 min.

After 20 min remove the foil and grate your cheese, I use Violife original in this recipe because it melts really well.

IMAG1374.jpg

Pop the dish uncovered back into the oven for a further 20 min. If you like a crispy top leave in for a further 10 - 15 min.

IMAG1375.jpg

Serve with some chunky chips, a leafy green salad and some of my garlic cheese swirls. They are part 3!!

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
Upvote and follow resteem.gif

Sort:  

Another excellent dish, thanks for sharing it!

I have not had much success with white or creamy sauces so I will be giving your bechamel sauce a whirl soon.

Might work well with mushrooms for a spaghetti sauce alfredo style mmmm worth a try eh?

Big hug, bro...you are inspiring to follow and always on it with the vegan food fare, thanks muchly (munchly!)😊

The belchamel sauce is great for other applications too, If I was going with mushroom type sauce I would use either baby button or chestnut mushrooms, the chestnut offering a much deeper flavour.

I actually for used this several times with roast baby tomatoes too, it makes such a rich dish but its quick enough to make mid week. Oil , salt and pepper your tomatoes and pop in a 180 Deg c oven while your making up the belchamel sauce, after about 15 mins they are ready to mix into the sauce and serve with spaghetti or tagliatelle.

Thanks again, I'm here to help.

And the tips just keep on coming...suoer ideas...humble gratitude for sharing them!

I also love mixing my mushies, chanterelle (when I can get them) oyster and shiitake as well as my fave chestnut! I even grow my own when I can...its super easy actually and the flavours are so much deeper than commercially grown mushrooms.

Love that quick sauce idea...honestly you are becoming my go to vegan cookery god! 😊

Oh oyster are superb, can be difficult to get sometimes. I was only looking at other Posts on growing and mushroom / fungi identification. Something I have a keen interest in.

Well forgive the pun but mushrooms are magic! 😊😊😊

Magic ones are even better!! Ah distant memories.

Pretty vivid distant memories!!! 😊😊😊

My favorite milk is oat milk as well for the same reason! The lasagna looks sooo good. Even more in your puff pastry post where you served it ... 😋

Oat is awesome and really easy to make it nice yourself. One of the best things about lasagna is the leftovers! I was lucky enough to have a portion for lunch the next day.

Thanks for stopping by.

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @upvoteforfree

Looks really delicious :)

It is really something special. I actually prefer this to the meat one! Less greasy and does not sit heavy on your stomach at all.

You got a 4.22% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @moonunit!

This post has received a 3.05% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @moonunit. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got a 3.45% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @moonunit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99