A Mother's magic in the kitchen!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Few of Mom’s specialty that I love to eat when we’re celebrating birthdays back home are Pancit, Biko and Pakbet. Since I moved out from my parent’s house, I can’t exclude that I’ve always missed my Mom’s cooking. Especially my most favorite ulam in the world! Ladies and gentlemen, I am proud to represent my Mom’s creations...

media-share-0-02-06-3d0a46e00c18f05c9b74baad5ad3ec2e8639671c5b359f8eafac9b56ac160beb-c11fea45-4a44-47d8-afaa-f904ff24d3dd.jpg

Pakbet
My Mom was Ilokana so she perfected it’s taste since this was a delicacy of their province. Why does it’s in #1 among my favorite meal? Well.. I’m not picky when it comes to food even when I was just a child, thought or a nemo trying my way to the portal. I just.... LURV the nature of any vegetables even before I learned about GMO and veganism. Unlike my other kinfolk, some do not like to eat this for whatever reason that I cannot agree!
media-share-0-02-06-ce4f40110eca981e47d4dd1463c41cce969cbddc4b7fd16d5c5b85817e4f0d80-1e1a9339-54db-4bd9-b1eb-fb9ccf99875b.jpg

Biko
My Father was a Bisaya so this is techically for him. It taste sweet and kind of milky because of the sugar and coconut milk on it. It was also heavy on stomach that’s why you’ll better eat this as a desert or else you will easily feel full!


Pancit
Obviously, Pancit or noodles was introduced into the Philippines by China. From then, this food was regularly served to birthday parties because this was believed to be a symbol of long life and good health. There are various version of this dish here in the country. But I like the the blend of Pancit Canton and Pancit Bihon together. You can find this easily served everywhere. So if you’re planning to visit our country do not try to missed this on your food list!
divider-3.png

Recipes are the same as what you can find on Google. But the taste will surely be different. Mom's cooking was the best LUTONG BAHAY everrrr!!!!!
88b9fd6e816e61970b19832065803129.png

U5dsd7YcDCfaakuuboQD85hRHuqVEuu_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Yum, this looks absolutely delicious. Pity I can't get the ingredients in Spain! X

Yes it might be very hard to see the ingredients of these foods in your local market. But I am hoping one day you can try Filipino food. 😉

Yes, so do I. Via a visit one day I hope? X

If you're from barcelona..go to La boquiera in La Rambla and the Filipinos there will tell you where to get them. Besides, fruits and vegetables there are also called in Ilocano.

Thank you for that. No I am not I live in Almeria Province which is some way away. However, I will be visiting sometime and will call. X

Oh..any asian community have few Filipino stuff in its' stores. Bangladeshi and Chinese stores have.

Thank you so much for the information. I really appreciate it. X

you're welcome.

Nakaka gutom! I want Biko now ❤️🇵🇭 Filipino food is the best 🙌🏻

Yes, nag iisa ang lasang pagkaing pinoy talaga.

Yes, si Mama nagluto e..

Sarap ng pakbet. paborito ko yan!! :D

Ay talaga kabayan, ilokana ka din ba?

Medyo hehe pero Pangasinan ako :)

Thanks, followed you kabayan. Checking your profile now.

Ilocano pakbet is the best coz of bagoong from Pangasinan. Walang kokontra.

Tama ang sarap kaya! Haha pektusan natin kumontra sis

Sige sige..batuen ta ;)

Yuumm nakakagutom!

I love pinakbet, esp. yung may gata... kahit anong may gata wag lang may selhfish lol

mahilig ka din magluto =)

keep it up =)

Yup mahilig din ako maglutp. Though learning pa lang at patiyam toyamba ang lasa. Hehe yung suso na gata yata yung sinasabi mo sis na may shell. Malasa yun kaya lang delikado pag di ka marunong kumain nun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62