[Foodie Diary] October Notes

in #food7 years ago (edited)

In my neighborhood, California Marketplace has reopened after a major reconstruction and it has been my recent joy to try different menus from Square Mixx, the new food court on the top floor of the building.

IMG_4336.jpg

From there, BORA has become one of my favorite dessert place ❤
Their icecreams and Bingsoo don't taste too sweet and are very fulfilling.
Plus, the presentation is exquisite. They serve with real flower decorations.

IMG_4337 copy.jpg

And look at the layered ceramics they use!
Red been was hidden underneath the purple sweet potato chips.

giphy.gif
YUM YUM YUM

bora1.JPG

是不是很可爱吗? 非常可爱的紫色


On November 5th, I went to Big Data & AI Seminar in San Gabriel.
I'm so glad I went because it was my introduction to the subject.
The event was organized by Chinese Scholars Association and some of the information was spoken in Mandarin. Unfortunately, I'm not a fluent Mandarin speaker but I went with a kind friend who sat by my side and translated the lecture.

20171127_205444.JPG

Before attending the event, my friend and I went to a Shanghai restaurant to eat 牛肉捲餅.

IMG_4428 copy.JPG

牛肉捲餅 translated is "Beef Stuffed Scallion Pancake".
You just have to try this! It's absolutely delicious. 好好吃


On a Saturday, I went to DTLA Saturday Market to buy some clothes.
After looking around for a bit I stopped by street food vendors to eat breakfast and drink this beast.

IMG_4333 copy.JPG

PUEBLAS!

I'm not 100% on the name but this is what I heard and noted down.
Apparently, the name comes from an area in Mexico because that's where they drink this.

I got a mango flavor but I tried my dad's coconut and mango combination and liked the mix better. So the guy poured little bit of coconut for me. I believe the stuffing on the top is guava seed. It was definitely not chewable so I just drank it. hahahaha I'm not sure if that's the correct way to consume guava seeds.

I want to try this again the following week but I could not find the food cart!
Maybe the weather has warm up for the street vendor guy to serve this icy drink again.
I can't wait for summer to come!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49