Learning Cantonese while dining out -- Sik Faan Laa食飯啦 ;P

in #food7 years ago

Afternoon!
IMG_6158.jpg

I believe Cantonese is one of the most difficult language to learn.
For me, a user, I think it because it doesn't have proper grammar like English
(which means the order of wordings in a sentence can be reorganized in different ways but still sound reasonable)

i.e. 我食左晚飯啦今日 ( I have had dinner today)
今日我食左晚飯啦 (Today I have had dinner)
食左飯晚啦我今日 (Have had dinner I today)
There's no big difference in Cantonese but it sounds weird in English
Also, Cantonese has 9 tones, so many foreigners would prefer Mandarin rather then Cantonese

Today I went to a Chinese cuisine restaurant <<CHA CHA ROOM茶茶居>> by chance
The utensils have a sentence printed on it, with both Cantonese phonics & English translation
IMG_6151.JPG
"Sik Faan Laa 食飯啦 Enjoy!"
It's quite funny and you can just speak Cantonese like a pro!

IMG_6173.JPG
"Ng Goi Saai 唔該曬Thank you!"

IMG_6154.JPG
Sweet and Sour Pork, one of my favourite dishes

IMG_6153.JPG
"Chan Yi Yum 趁熱飲 Drink still hot?" -- the inside is sweet corn soup

Feel free to leave comment and please upvote me if you like it!
Thanks for reading~ Ng goi saai

Sort:  

Great to meet another HKer here! Nice to meet you and happy steeming!

Good to see another post that talks about Cantonese. I wrote 2 posts about Chinese / Cantonese before and got some good feedback and encouragement. I am thinking about writing more but are too busy recently.
Keep coming up with good posts about Chinese and Cantonese to promote them to the world.

It's good to meet another HongKonger here;)
Let's write more about Cantonese

Welcome to steemit!
Cantonese is interesting. I don't know is it difficult to learn because I was borned and grow up in a Cantonese environment, I learnt it like fishes learn to swim.
The restaurent looks nice, I may try it next time eating oudside.
Again welcome! Have a nice day.

Hello friend from HK!

we really need to promote and defend Cantonese.
悍衛廣東話!

give me 5!yeah

Congratulations @momo-bb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello from HK too, lets help steemit grow in HK together~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37