Sweet or sour - doesn't matter

in #food6 years ago

It's been way too long, since my last post, but believe me, in those two months I checked your posts almost daily, but I just didn't found the energy to mentally participate with you as I should. I know that being busy isn't the proper apology, but I'll try to make it up to you with my future posts.

IMG-20181001-WA0004.jpg

I could tell you many stories about my family's adventures which happened this summer, but I'll start with the most recent one. Apple picking,...

IMG_20180926_170018.jpg

The wonderful hot summer, which is, unfortunately, behind us, did our apple trees very good. They have produced a huge amount of tasty apples, as we can't even remember when was the last time in such volume. However, such a quantity of fruit can't be picked quickly, quite the opposite, it was really time-consuming, but when we did it, we felt very good.

123.jpg

From apples, we baked pastries like apple rolls, and we even cut them into slices, dried in a special drying oven, and made them a super snack - apple slices.

IMG_20180922_153822~3.jpg

But the main event related to the apples was the preparation of home-made apple juice. Since we don't have the proper press for ourselves, we put the collected apples into bags and took them with a car trailer to the acquaintance which with a hydraulic press squeezed the apples into a delicious juice.

IMG_20180928_173710~2.jpg

On return home, we cooked it and put it in dedicated tanks. What we couldn't believe was the fact, that we prepared it as much as 310 liters. Yummy.

I must say that we are really looking forward to the upcoming winter since we will sweeten with tasty apples in many ways. What about you, did you eat any apples in this fall? Have a wonderful rest of the day.

Photos made by me, and my Elephone.

Sort:  

We made some cider from our apples too. There is nothing like fresh unpasteurized cider!

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. I usually prefer water over juice, but the homemade cider is something I simply can't resist. We also make the apple vinegar from it every year. :)

Nice to read that... Do you store it in bottles or in bigger tanks? Which type of apples did you use?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56