Foodphotography - pickeled green beans

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I went to visit my friend and her family. Her mother-in-law had too many spare vegetables, so instead of giving them to the animals, she offered to give me some of it. You can't imagine how full of vegetables (grown in her garden) was my car's trunk when I came back home. :) Among other vegetables I can say I love the most the delicious green beans she gave to me...

Because the quantity of it was too big to eat in one meal, I decided to put it in glass jars, and store them for the winter. Some beans I left fresh, and we will prepare them in days to come, with some other ingredients: olive oil, vinegar, and garlic. I love such kind of a salad, but not just me - my kids, and partner like it too. But the rest I cooked and stuffed the jars.

IMG_20180721_172338_2.jpg

Long story short, at first I prepared the beans, cleaned and washed them in water.

IMG_20180721_161835_2.jpg

Then I cooked them in salted water with a spoon of sugar and 2dcl of alcoholic vinegar for a good taste, until they were soft.

IMG_20180721_171057_2 (1).jpg

When it was cooked well done, I put them in hot glass jars, which I pre-heated in the oven. Afterward, I covered them with a towel, so they can slowly cool down.

IMG_20180721_172305_2.jpg

A very simple recipe for which you don't need a lot of time and ingredients.

Meanwhile, when the beans were cooking, I baked a bread ... ... we just can't wait for it to cool down, so we can try it. But it's already looking tasty, so I better get going. :)

IMG_20180721_192104_2.jpg

Photos made by me, and my Vernee smartphone.

Sort:  

Amazing... Nice to see you are thinking ahead, so your family can eat some good homegrown vegetables in the winter.

My youngest also adore green beans. Usually, we have to bring the beans on the table after she eats most of her launch. Because if we bring it sooner, all she will eat for the meal are green beans. :) Hehe... I'm not such a fan. Although I discovered I like the most the yellow ones, cooked, chilled, and without any seasoning. ;)

About the bread... Yummy... I can smell it only by looking. :) Buon appetite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45