#1 My personal journey from high carb veganism to a high fat ketogenic diet

in #food6 years ago (edited)

We eat so much and know so little...

vegantoketo.jpg

Welcome to my first Blogpost ever created in which I want to share with you my own personal experiance on a high carb vegan diet and how I got to a ketogenic diet.

Around 2013 friends of mine and me got hyped on the high carb vegan diet, what was mostly fruit based. People like Durianrider played a huge role in it, so I got tons of fruits blended and more active overall, more passionate, more thoughtfull and of course, compared to what I was eating before, it was a dietary improvment. I just felt physically amazing! At least as long as I was overcharged on sugars. And mentally I felt like Mother Teresa, doing the right thing, being the good guy!

The change from a "regular" diet to a vegan diet in general was not so difficult for me in the beginning. But with time, I kept it up for around 3 years, it got more challenging. I added more and more different foods to it, like starches (rice, potatoes, noodles), vegetables and also vegan sausages and all kind of vegan meat and fish replacements, because no matter how much I ate, how full my stomach was, I just never felt saturated in a fully satisfactory way, deep down there was always something missing, that happiness from heaviness?!

Besides of not being a very practial diet overall, because you don't always have a blender where you are and also don't always have the fruit quantity and quality available everywhere, it is a challenging lifestyle, especially if you travel alot and/or have a unregular job, but also because of the necessity of eating masses of plants to even get near the calories you need in a day.

And with time I thought more and more about what I was doing, reading the lables of the vegan alternative products (vegan candy bars, vegan fish, vegan meat, vegan ... ) and asking myself: "Is that really better, really healthier?"
But also looking around me and question what fruits grow here in Germany during winter, kale? If we wouldn't import all kind of foods from all over the world, what would we have here? Is it less harmfull to the environment to depend mainly on imported foods, instead of eating what is regional available? Veganism isn't just about the well-being of animals, but also about the well-being of the environment, isn't it?

People that never were on a high carb vegan diet can't possibly imagine the masses of fruits you need to consume and in the end I felt myself like the fattend goose I wanted to safe, drinking down that shake of 25 bananas for breakfast, it just felt so unnatural for me.

I really had difficulties to integrate that lifestle fully into my always changing life, because it took over so much of my daily lifetime, that eating and planing what to eat became more importend than to just life, but also mainly because of that always missing feeling of being satisfactory saturated, I gave up on it after years.

Did I lost any weight? Not really, but I was not overweight before and weight loss was not my goal in the first place.

Afterwards I did a medical check-up including a fibroscan analysis and I got during that time a lightly fattend liver and two gallstones and I also had high cholesterol, congratulations! While shifting back to a "regular" diet I gained within few month over 13kg of body weight.

Not judging! Not saying that veganism is the devil! It did help me to overcome bad habits and let me rethink a lot of what I was doing (wrong) before, it helped me getting on that path I am now, to add more greens to my plate, to be more active, to appreciate and/or value foods more.

So my path lead me to a high fat ketogenic diet (not plant based!) and it came with a different set of benefits.

I will continue here on my next post, on what those benefits are and much more!

Please keep in mind, that I am writing about my own life experiance, I am not saying that anybody should do the same, I am not recommending or advicing anything to anyone, it is more like a personal diary I want to share with you and as you have guessed by now, english is not my native language, but I am trying!

I thank you so much for your time and patience!

=)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56747.23
ETH 3007.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19