You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zucchini Fritters with Homemade Tzatziki, Original Recipe and Photos | Vegan, Organic, Gluten-Free | Did you hear that Amazon bought Whole Foods?!

in #food7 years ago

This looks delicious, I have never tryed it before, this is on my to do list now 😆 about whole foods... honestly I don't trust a big companies like this, if you find local farmers markets near you, that is probably the best solution.. I wrote an article about this, if you are interested, I can send you the link. And thanks again for your wonderfull recipes!

Sort:  

Thank you! Yes, agreed. I definitely prefer to get things locally, and I do support local organic farmers. But I think that for the majority of consumers, the easier it is to access healthy food, the more likely they will be to opt for healthy alternatives. And I think that makes the future of organic, Non-GMO products look really bright. I think the more people get on board with consuming healthy products, the more Monsantos and other big corporations that don't support healthy products are going to have to back down. Food for thought :) Yes, I would love to check out your article, please send me the link :)

I completely agree with you, the only reason why companies like monsanto still are so powerful is only because the majority of people still buy a lot of their products, so this can only turn around if we stop supporting them and we have easier acces to healthy food.. indeed the future is looking brighter, healthy food is getting more available and the demand is rising 😊 but we still have to look out for the scams.. here is the link to my post https://steemit.com/minnowtowhale/@mitchiesfoodrace/how-much-can-we-trust-any-big-company-with-our-food-supply-or-health-products

Thank you for sharing your post with me. And I'm glad you addressed this point about Whole Foods, as I was hoping to start a discussion about it. And I agree with you. Supporting local farmers markets and growing your own food are some of the best solutions today to ensure that we get organic, non-GMO ingredients in our food. I have just started my own garden in fact, growing organic fruits and veggies, and visit local farmers markets in my area whenever possible.

And from the information in your post it makes the controversy about Whole Foods much clearer, and shows that Whole Foods isn't being honest about what ingredients are in their products, and they factually cannot ensure that they are providing fully organic, non-GMO products.

It's unfortunate because I would really like to see an organization that supplies honestly sourced, organic, non-GMO products with the kind of volume and accessibility of a big corporation. But the fact is I have never seen a big corporation be able to maintain its integrity in that regard. And so yes, the smaller local businesses seem to be the more reliable choice, a point well made in your article.

As far as accessibility and awareness about health food, I think that there still are some organic, non-GMO products that Whole Foods does supply, which will now be that much more accessible with Amazon coming into the picture. (For instance, Whole Foods carries products from Organic Meadow, a local organic dairy farm in Canada not too far from me.) And hopefully this accessibility encourages more people to opt for healthy foods. And to stop supporting big corporations like Monsantos, as you said.

Thanks again for engaging with me. I've followed you and will keep my eye out for more of your health related posts. Cheers!

Thanks a lot for your support! It's very much appreciated. It is nice to find like minded people and being able to talk about this kind of subjects.. let us hope future companies will become more trust worthy.. they should use blockchain technologie for their inventory and supply so everything becomes public, no more hiding :) I am also keeping an eye on your posts ;) see you later..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30