Romanian style cooking - Stuffed Tomatoes with Eggplant (Aubergines) Salad

in #food6 years ago

Dear steemians, 

Hope that you have/had a wonderful Monday!! mine is almost over cause here is about 7 p.m. I personally had a good day, I did lot of stuff; which is great! I also cooked some food, that's why I'm here. I thought you would be interested in this recipe. It's one of a classic recipe here in Romania. All summer long, in every home, you'll find this eggplant salad. Not necessary with the stuffed tomatoes, but it's more 'fancy' this way. 

This salad is very popular on the plates of any kind of festive events, an appetizer served with salami, cheese, olives, etc.  Honestly, I don't know a Romanian who doesn't love this eggplant salad. What do you think, @steemromania? Who wants some?:d 

There are many ways to do it, but the most appreciated is the one with mayonnaise. I know people that instead of mayo,  they use olive oil/sunflower oil and lemon juice, maybe some yoghurt. It's much healthy, as you can tell. But the mayo makes it delicious.  Also, 95% of the people I know use onion, the rest of them use garlic. I can't stand the garlic version, I don't know why. Just 'No, thank you' :)

Here you have the recipe!! 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 5-6 eggplants 
  • 1 medium onion
  • mayonnaise (bought or homemade) - homemade is the best!!!
  • salt and pepper
  • 8-10 medium tomatoes
  • Green salad and parsley for garnish (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. First, you need to bake the eggplants. There are 2 ways of doing it: using the heat of the flame (if you have gas hob) or you can bake them in the oven, after you put them in a tray.  If you choose the first version, you'll need some grill, plate or a heavy tray. You don't want to put the eggplants directly on the flame. 

Here are some photos, so you can have a better example.

Imag source 

Imag source

2. After the eggplants are done, you need to peel the skin off. 

3. Chop them super small, as best as you can and then let them in a strainer for 30 minutes. 

4. Chop the onion and mix it with the eggplants.

5. Add the mayo, salt and pepper and mix gently.

6. Cut 1-1,5 cm of the tomatoes, the upper part. So you remain with a whole tomato and then scoop out the 'mushy' part of these loving tomatoes.

7. Using a spoon, fill the tomatoes with the salad.

Taddaaaaa!!!  You can garnish now on a plate with some green salad, fresh parsley!!! Yummyy!


If you don't want to make stuffed tomatoes (maybe you don't have so many or you're to lazy), just do this way!!


Hope you like this recipe as much as we, Romanians are!!  You can storage this salad easily in the fridge for a few days, but I'm sure it will be gone tooo quick!! 

Also, you can freeze it for winter and it will taste the same. I don't remember a New Year's eve without this salad;or other families do it for Christmas. It brings me back so many memories haha. 

Tell me your opinion in the comment section bellow! Maybe you have a better idea with it!! 

Thanks for your support, beautiful steemians!!

Love, 

Miss Deli

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! ALL THESE PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG S8.  

If you like my work, comment, upvote and resteem! And if you want to stay in touch with me for more delicious healthy recipes and articles on health, HIT the Follow button on my blog!  xoXo

Sort:  

Love the ground eggplant idea, good use of it. And yeah you cannot beat homemade mayo.. Just eggs, spices, oil and vinegar.

Well that's good to know. I completely agree with you. In order to make the mayo, I use mustard too .

Superba reteta de vara si toamna

dada:D profitam de ultimele vinete si rosii :(

Woww Delicioso!

Thank you! Maybe you would try it some day :)

Hmmm that looks really yummy!!! 😻

Thank you @melooo182! It is indeed!! A good refreshing choice for the weather in AR:)

mi se face foame

haha. Cand e vorba de salata de vinete, cred ca la toti ni se face foame. :d

I am so glad to see you back and making food!

And what food it is. As always, beautiful presentation and photos.

Thank you,

Thank you Tom!! You're very kind:)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you @adsactly team! :x

I love this. will definitely try it one day. @missdeli makes my mouth go yummy yummy...... Can't stop salivating. Lol

These filled tomatoes look very tasty... Good Idea and I must try also :)
I see you have lot cool food posts here ... I can come more back here to see what you have :)

Thank you @foxkoit! They are very delicious. The're really famous here in the summer.

Posted using Partiko Android

ok..ok ... I try have it then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82