You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Squash blossom Kale and Beetroot Omlette Beakfast

in #food6 years ago

Thank you @phedizzlea and also sorry for my late answer. It was a busy week. Yes, I think that the butternut squash blossom are also edible. Read here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Squash_blossom You'll see that squash blossom is a Cucurbita species, and also if you look up on wikipedia at butternut squash, they also belong to Cucurbita species. So, they both are edible flowers of Cucurbita species. Honestly, this was my first time when I had beets with eggs and it was great. The beets were crunchy and everything gave a sort of 'balance' to the omlette. It was like eating some type of food with eggs, nut omlette. It was super good, for me at least. I love boiled beets with some caraway seeds. They are very healthy, so I encourage you to grow them. And its pretty much easy to grow them. They are not pretentious plants. Thanks again, also for your comment and supporting. Cheers from Romania.

Sort:  

Squash blossom
Squash blossoms are the edible flowers of Cucurbita species, particularly Cucurbita pepo, the species that produces zucchini (courgette), marrow, spaghetti squash, and many other types of squash.
In Great Britain they are called courgette flowers.

I picked a few yellow squash blossoms to add to my eggs the other morning. So delicious! Thanks for the inspiration. Will try butternut squash flowers soon probably. ( :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33