@mindhunter Does The Veggie Thang ... CURRIED AUBERGINE!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Aubergine is a substantial vegetable making it ideal as an alternative to meat curries or as a side dish. Serves 4.

INGREDIENTS:

1 large aubergine
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1/2 tablespoon minced ginger root
1/2 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 tomato diced
110g low-fat plain yoghurt
1 fresh green chilli, finely chopped
Salt to taste

@mindhunter METHOD:

  1. Cut the aubergine into slice or bite-sized pieces.

  2. Heat the oil in a saucepan over a medium heat.

  3. Mix in the cumin seeds and onion and fry until the onion is tender.

  4. Stir in the ginger, garlic, curry powder and tomato, and cook for 1 minute. Stir in the yoghurt.

  5. Add the aubergine and chilli, and season with salt. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes over a high heat or until the aubergine is tender.

  6. Remove the cover, reduce the heat to low, and continue cooking for about 5 minutes, then serve.

I also like to add some sweet potato to this recipe too.

Enjoy your veggie delight my fellow Steemians!

@mindhunter

Sort:  

If I had to choose only ONE fruit or Veg I would be very very hard pressed to choose between Aubergine and avocado. Just LOVE aubergine. Will give this a shot soon...

I'd take avocado and advise you to try this recipe soon ;)

Looks delicious! Chickpeas might be a nice addition, too.

Good idea, I've also added sweet potato :)

Looks great. Making me feel hungry now

Every recipe on here makes me feel hungry if someone else is cooking it! Ha ha!

even you, @mindhunter!
I am sorry. Forget it.

Ha ha! It's OK, I'm having steak well done for tea ;)

This sounds like an interesting recipe. :)

Very veggie and very different indeed :)

I will save some for you ... fee 0.0001 BTC ... (only joking!) ;)

I go in an out of veggie-dom, but I've never tried vegan-dom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43