How to Make Healthy & Delicious Prickly Pear Cactus Fruit Juice 🌵 (PHOTOS + VIDEO TUTORIAL)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit Friends!

Yayyy! It's almost harvest time of one of my favorite fruits, the Prickly Pear. If you’re a fan of pears, watermelon and honeydew melon, you’ll love their tempting taste too!

They're sooo pink, juicy and succulent... Mmmmmmmm....

In this post, you'll learn step-by-step how to prepare and extract the refreshing juice of prickly pear cactus fruits!

mc_ppj1.jpg

Prickly Pear Health Benefits

Not only does fresh prickly pear cactus juice taste delicious, it's also a beverage with benefits. It’s an excellent source of vitamins and minerals like vitamin C, magnesium, calcium and hydration regulating potassium.

According to scientific researchers at Tulane Health Sciences Center in New Orleans, prickly pear extract may help alleviate and prevent certain hangover symptoms when taken hours before drinking alcoholic beverages. Good to know!

mc_ppj2.jpg

Where You'll Find Prickly Pears

Prickly Pear Cacti (Opuntia Ficus-Indica), are native to the Western Hemisphere and are abundantly found in the Southwest United States as well as central and western Mexico and the Caribbean West Indies.

Opuntia has been introduced around the globe and can be found in abundance in the Mediterranean region as well as Australia.

Prickly pear fruits are often called cactus figs, Indian figs, Barbary figs as well as tunas. They come in three color varieties; white (or greenish), yellow and red.

mc_ppj11.jpg

Let's Make Prickly Pear Juice!

Firstly, prickly pears are just that - they're very prickly!

Before we get started, you'll want to slap on a pair of rubber kitchen or garden gloves to safely handle the cactus fruits. If you don't have gloves, you can use kitchen tongs instead.

If you don't have a juicer, no problem! We'll use a blender to help extract the juice.

1. Clean & Soak

mc_ppj5.jpg

To start, soak your clean prickly pears in a bowl of cold water. This will help remove most of the remaining hair-like spines, or glochids, from the skin of the fruit.

I let mine soak for about twenty minutes.

2. Cut & Remove Skins

mc_ppj6.jpg

Now, carefully remove your prickly pears from the bowl. At this point, you can remove your gloves.

With a paring knife, cut a slit lengthwise like so and peel the skin from the flesh of the fruit.

mc_ppj3.jpg

Once you've removed all the skins, cut the flesh into small chunks.

3. Chop

mc_ppj8.jpg

Add your fruit chunks to your blender. I'm adding about a quarter cup of filtered water to one and one half cup of prickly pear fruit.

4. Blend

mc_ppj9.jpg

Now this step is the fun part! Purée the heck out of your peck of prickly pears!

If you prefer your juice a tad sweeter, now is the time to add a generous dash of agave nectar and blend.

5. Strain

mc_ppj7.jpg

You're almost done! Use a fine mesh sieve to strain and separate any seeds and extra pulp from the juice.

Watch my Prickly Pear Cactus Juice Video Tutorial:

Now you're ready to enjoy your prickly pear cactus juice!

You can serve and sip your juice as is, or, use it as a mixer for a refreshingly delicious Margarita cocktail. Get the recipe HERE!

mc_ppj10.jpg

Have you tried prickly pear cactus fruit?

Thanks for commenting, upvoting and resteeming this post! I hope my post will inspire you to make and create or treat yourself to something new. Until next time...

Cheers!

Michelle

xx


P.S. If you enjoyed this post (and I hope you did!) FOLLOW @michellectv for more Fun, Food, Drinks, Beauty, Travel & Style! ❤


In case you missed my last post...

HOW TO MAKE A CAIPIRISSIMA COCKTAIL 🍹 (PHOTOS + RECIPE + VIDEO TUTORIAL)

mccaip6a.JPG

Link: https://steemit.com/food/@michellectv/how-to-make-a-caipirissima-cocktail-photos-recipe-video-tutorial

Sort:  

The recipe card for Prickly Pear Juice:

michellectv_ppj.jpg

well that's one way to make new friends at your next dinner party, just hand out your prickly pear biz cards! lol

It's a recipe card, not a business card, silly!

I don't get it... if I like the recipe, you got my business.... SOLD! lol :D

looks juicily delicious... look forward to seeing the cocktail version (with alcohol) coming up next! :D

You'll love the 'Rita version! I do!

Is juicily a word? If not, it should be! Haha! : D

I'm not one for alcohol, but the pics look pretty cool! Thanks for sharing.

It's great to drink straight or in a smoothie too!

You put a lot of effort into this. How long did it take to edit the video and what program do you use to do your editing?

Yes, I've put a lotttt of time into my videos.... and I use several different programs depending on what I'm editing.

and I upvoted...well, because I could ;) I just learned how...for what it's worth from a minnow...

welcome to steemit @bobthebuilder!

Welcome to Steemit! ; )

I think the juice is very tasty but this fruit is not easy to find. In my country, Romania, is not commercialized. What does it taste like?

To me, it tastes like watermelon, honeydew melon and pears!

tunas!!!! I could eat tunas for the rest of my life! I loved them! Super awesome article :)

Thanks! I could eat 'em forever too! ; )

That looks amazing! I'm a juice freak so i'm definitely giving this a try this weekend!

Enjoy it! My Prickly Pear Margarita recipe is up now, you might enjoy that for the weekend too! ; )

I have never tried this before. I bet it's delicious. Thanks for sharing.

It's worth the effort! ; )

I never try dragon fruit or prickly pear cactus fruit. I can't afford to buy one, it's so expensive at around $10 usd per piece.

Dragon fruits are expensive where I live (NYC) year round. I can find prickly pears for 3 for $1 at the end of August - September.

I'd imagine that they're awfully cheap out in Arizona....

Arizona? I think it's almost free, the Saguaro national park dotted with it now!

Free is a great price!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellectv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15