GOT A LOTTA LEFTOVERS? MAKE A QUICK FRITTATA! 🍳 (PHOTOS + TUTORIAL)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Salutations Steemit Friends!

The weekend is right around the corner - TGIF! Do you have any delish plans for the weekend? For me, I'm looking forward to a yummy Sunday Brunch at home, away from the crowds, lounging about in my jammies until late in the afternoon.

Despite living in Manhattan, where going out for a Brunch special that includes endless mimosas is a reason to get all gussied up, I'm content to just stay at home and be a lounge kitty. Besides, I prefer dining al fresco on a private terrace than rather a scene. Now, that's a luxury!

Anyhoo, in keeping with creating a little luxurious brunch experience at home (with miminal effort), I like to throw together a frittata.

Lately, we've been shopping for groceries late on Sunday evenings (as to avoid the pushy mobs and to snag more deals) so by Sunday morning, whatever's left in the fridge is mostly leftovers.

And leftovers are perfect for making frittatas!

mc_frit5a.jpg

If you don't know what a frittata is, it's kind of like a quiche without a crust... or is it an Italian omelette?...

Whatever a frittata technically may be is for the experts. What I know is that they're delicious, filling and perfect year-round for any meal. FYI: you'll need plenty of eggs!

Let's Make a Frittata!

For this frittata, I already had some leftover cooked asparagus and potatoes but need to sauté the onions and sweet mini peppers.,

I slowly heat the cast-iron skillet on medium heat and add oil. At the same time, I preheat the oven to 350º F (or about 176 Celsius).

I begin to sauté the onions and peppers; I like to add a generous amount of unsalted butter. Because butter makes everything better!

mcfrit1.gif

While sautéing, I'm slowly lowering the heat to about medium low... don't want the cast-iron to get too hot!

I should allow the onions to caramelize a bit more, but I've got a lotta leftovers to fit in this skillet. So, gotta do this chop chop!

I toss in the asparagus, potatoes, Canadian bacon and minced garlic...

mc_frit1.jpg

Next up, are the eggs, fresh herbs, salt, pepper and a dash of hot sauce. I'll have to make do with a half dozen eggs or so - that's all that's left in the fridge!

mcfrit2.gif

I have to say, that more eggs would be merrier. About nine eggs would result in a deep dish frittata. Nonetheless, this one should still taste egg-cellent!

mc_frit2.jpg

Now, it's time to get really cheesy! I could've easily added this shredded mozzarella to my egg mixture, but then again, I wouldn't have this sexy sprinkle shot to share.

mc_frit3.jpg

I'm not done with my cheesiness quite yet...lol! Sprinkling on goat cheese will add some creamy tanginess.

The frittata is now ready to pop in the oven...

mc_frit4.jpg

I'll let this bake at 350º F for about twenty minutes. I love to watch it puff up until it just starts to tan, and then quickly take it out...

mc_frit6.jpg

Next, I'll let the frittata cool. Once it's cooled off, I'll slice up the servings with a serrated knife.

mc_frit8.jpg

This easy-to-make frittata made four yummy servings (two slices each).

mc_frit7a.jpg

The next time I make a frittata it'll be with a few more eggs and extra fresh herbs sprinkled on top. Maybe I'll give it a try with leftover pasta, a carbonara frittata sounds divine. Mmmmm!

How do like your frittata?

Thanks for commenting, upvoting and resteeming this post! I hope my post will inspire you to make and create or treat yourself to something new. Until next time...

Bon Appétit!

Michelle

xx


P.S. If you enjoyed this post (and I hope you did!) FOLLOW @michellectv for more Fun, Food, Drinks, Beauty, Travel & Style! ❤


In case you missed these posts...

FOODIE ADVENTURE: A TRADITIONAL TASTE of the VIRGIN ISLANDS on BEAUTIFUL ST. JOHN, USVI!

mc_eastend.jpg

Link: https://steemit.com/travel/@michellectv/foodie-adventure-a-traditional-taste-of-the-virgin-islands-on-beautiful-st-john-usvi

SIMPLE MANGO-GINGER SORBET (PHOTOS + RECIPES)

mc_mangsorb2.jpg

Link: https://steemit.com/food/@michellectv/simple-mango-ginger-sorbet-photos-recipes

Sort:  

well doesn't that just look totally yummy and delicious! and to think that it still somehow tasted even better than how it looks! :D

Aren't you lucky! Haha!

TGIF! Can you send some to Las Vegas.... I'm hungry haha

Sure, once there's STEEM delivery! Hee hee ; )

Yum yum! I love fritatas! Nice idea to add some asparagus!

It was what was leftover! ; )

my favourite way of making frittata is with diced potatoes and peas, and I love a simple frittata made with only wild asparagus when they are in season, it has a slight bitter taste which i personally adore

Both sound lovely! Make me one! ; )

heyy thanks for sharing we like it really Frittata Sunday. comfort food 😍

You made a frittata! Looks yummy!

Yea.. but you can make better I'm sure..

As a person just started living by himself this seems like a life saver. Thank You @michellectv ! Awesome quality and very instructive.

Thank you @ssadis, I think you'll find this to be an easy way to make a full meal!

Thanks a million Michelle...great presentation...great writing...great food!!!!

You're very welcome @shawnster! : D

That looks YUMMY! & very well put together tutorial! Going to get on that tomorrow!

Yay! I'm happy you enjoyed it - have FUN making and eating your frittata!

God I miss the kitchen I cook in. I would make frittatas like yours all the time for breakfast. Beauty of it is I would always have left-over to eat the next morning haha.

Which part of New York City are you from?

Leftovers from leftovers are a great thing indeed. I'm from the Manhattan part of NYC. ; )

mom went to grandma town. So i should cook by myself. Anyway ill try this dish for now. Will see how it tastes like.

Good luck and enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66