BEST BURGER on the Upper East Side of Manhattan?! J.G. MELON 🍉 🍔 BEST BITES

in #food7 years ago (edited)

jgmelonburgst.png

Salutations Steemit Friends!

Do you ever get a craving for a BIG, FAT, JUICY BEEF CHEESEBURGER? Was that a resounding "YESSSS!!!" you exclaimed through the Steemitverse?

Very well, my friend. You and I share the same beefy indulgence...

The other day I was having such a craving! Despite incorporating more plant-based protein into my diet, I had a hunkering for a good old-fashioned bacon cheeseburger.

Hey, what can I say? Sometimes a red-blooded woman just needs some RED MEAT!

So, I met up with fellow Steemian and New Yorker @alexpmorris for a bite at J.G. Melon. This "infamous" American restaurant and tavern is located in between the Lenox Hill and Yorkville neighborhoods on the Upper East Side of Manhattan.

jg_st.png

The UES location of J.G. Melon is located at 1291 3rd Ave. (on the corner of 74th St.).

J.G. Melon has been an "infamous" (and famous) Upper East Side establishment since it opened in 1972. It's the place in this neighborhood for preppies, foodies and hipsters alike to rub elbows in a casual but cute, classic pub atmosphere.

Both Chef Bobby Flay and mega billionaire and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg rave about J.G. Melon's burgers as being the best of NYC. As does "boho preppy" fashion designer Tory Burch here on her Torypedia blog.

It won't disappoint film fanatics, like many famous joints in New York City, J.G. Melon was the location for this famous scene between actors Dustin Hoffman and Meryl Streep in the 1979 drama Kramer vs. Kramer.

Okay, below is the breakdown of my review...

The Good...

  • A simple, uncomplicated, one-sided lunch / dinner menu. You'll find burgers & sandwiches, soups, salads & sides, entrees and desserts. I appreciate a menu that offers choices but not too many.

  • I ordered the bacon cheeseburger, a side of cottage fried potatoes and a beer. My beef burger was made of flavorful, quality chopped sirloin meat cooked medium, just as I ordered. It also came with plenty of red onions, pickles and coleslaw.

  • There was a table available in the outside seating area. That's a rarity!

  • Desserts are by Magnolia Bakery. Lucky for my waistline, I was too stuffed from my burger to give one a try.

  • It's a hot spot to see and be seen, if that's your thing.

  • Location, location, location!

The Bad...

  • My bun looked like it had taken a beat down. I know it's just a burger, but the plating could have had a bit more care!

  • Our server didn't refill our waters and didn't check in on us. Don't get me wrong, I detest overbearing service but some non-intrusive service is expected!

  • Cash only.

The Ugly...

  • I've popped into J.G. Melon on several occasions only to be told that there is a loonnnggg wait for a table. W-A-I-T is a very nasty four-letter word to most New Yorkers.

  • The price. A bacon cheeseburger is $13.25 USD plus a side of fried potatoes is $6, throw in a couple of beers, plus tax and gratuity.... and that's just for one person. Even for the UES, it's a wee bit pricey.

burgerjgmel2.jpg

All in all, it was a fairly decent burger in a nice atmosphere. Despite all the fanfare, I'm not quite convinced it's the very best that the Upper East Side has to offer.

What's your favorite kind of burger?

I'd love to know. Please leave your comment down below! Also, many thanks for upvoting and resteeming this post! I really do appreciate it. Until next time...

Cheers!

Michelle

xx

P.S. FOLLOW for more Fun, Food, Drinks, Beauty, Travel & Style! :)

Sort:  

wow, I think I can almost smell that sweet beef through my computer screen, I'll have THREE please! lol

Gosh that looks delicious! :D

Maybe it's time to throw a bunch of burgers on the grill for this evening! yummmmmmmmmmmmy!

Oh, okay, if you're making them this time, and cleaning up! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellectv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

great post make me hangry lolllll
thanks for sharing great content
don't change , i follow you

Thanks @machour - that's sweet of you :)

wow great This post made my mouth watered :D

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it 😄

Well, I will be up in NY again in a month and just may have to check out this burger!

It's worth the time. However, the truffle burger at the Mark restaurant on the UES is tops... in both taste and price ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99