A steemian's world food journal. Part 5: Sydney

in #food8 years ago

Hello everybody, welcome to a brand new food adventure and let me tell you that it is gonna be a long long journey. Our destination this time is SYDNEY, one of the most well-known cities in the world. This is also the place where I had done my Bachelor degree. I lived in Sydney for nearly 4 years, hence there will be A LOT to tell you guys about Sydney and of course, my favorite foods there. I have to say that I LOVE Sydney, I really really do, and do you know the reason why? My entries about this amazing city will tell it all ;)

enter image description here

SYDNEY FISH MARKET
If you love seafood, this place is definitely a must-go. As can be seen, Sydney is famous for its beautiful beaches, the harbor and the long coasts. Because of its geographical location, the seafood here is abundant and extremely fresh. The fish market in Sydney is the third largest fish market in the world. There are wholesale market and a fresh seafood retail market here. Now, let’s have a look at the retail stalls with several kinds of seafood:
enter image description here
Fresh oysters
enter image description here
King crabs
enter image description here
Green mussels
enter image description here
Swordfish steak :P
enter image description here
New zealand snappers
enter image description here
enter image description here
Marinara mix, scallops and various kinds of mussels
enter image description here
Prawns (Note: pictures taken by my friend)

There is a delicatessen in the market which offers seafood dishes of all kind. Undoubtedly, all the dishes are very fresh, and tend to be cheaper than in other restaurants in the city, since all the ingredients are taken straight from the market. Especially, you can enjoy your food outside by the sea, that is what I love about this place ^^
enter image description here
The outdoor promenade for visitors
enter image description here
The beautiful bridge with amazing sea view
enter image description here
Our grilled seafood dishes with lobsters, abalone, scallops, calamari, octopus – they all taste yummy and super fresh <3

SUSHI RIO – SUSSEX STREET
Sydney is a multicultural cities with citizens from distinct parts of the world after the waves of immigration. Sydney cuisine is also affected by this factor, therefore there are so many kinds of food from different countries in Sydney. Asian foods are very popular since there are many Asian people living in the city. 4 years of living and studying here made me realize that people in Sydney love Japanese cuisine really much. There are several Japanese restaurants here with all kinds of dishes such as sushi, ramen, tepanyaki etc. One of the best is Sushi Rio, my favorite sushi chain. The restaurant is located in the center of the city on b02/345 Sussex str.
enter image description here
The sushi chain with many attracting dishes
This eating place is always crowded because of the good food with a very competing price. If you come here in happy hours, all the dishes are even cheaper^^ Beside original sushi dishes, there are also many types of fusion sushi (which I like :P), the side dishes and the drinks are also great!!!
enter image description here
enter image description here
Grilled scallops nigiri – the scallop is soft, fresh and naturally sweet, this is my favorite dish here
enter image description here
Tempura nigiri
enter image description here
Soft shell crab maki rolls
enter image description here
Scallop shasimi - super duper tasty, I have to take two dishes since it is too good to be true. Scallop sashimi is not a popular dish in every Japanese restaurants, normally there are only salmon, tuna, shrimps, octopus and some other fishes, therefore Rio Sushi is the best because they offer this wonderful dish with a reasonable price- around 4 euro/ dish
enter image description here
Matcha latte with a scoop of matcha ice cream, whipping cream and red bean sauce on top- yummy <3
enter image description here
A glass of mocktail with colorful layers
enter image description here
Deep-fried octopus- crunchy and well-marinated

With 50-60 AUD, you can have a meal for two with drinks, side dishes, sashimi and sushi. I highly recommend this place when you are in Sydney, and remember to check the happy hours before you walk in :P
That is the end of part 1, and please follow me in order not to miss the continuing parts. I hope my post can somehow help you “feel” my beloved Sydney, but if you haven’t yet, keep waiting for the next journey. There will be more fun ahead.

Thank you for reading and see you soon :x

Sort:  

Thank you ! awesome trip report! I visited the fishmarket too!

I've never seen so many fishes like that before, i love eating seafood by the sea as well, such an unforgetable experience, isnt it? :) I dont know how to describe it but the atmosphere and the sea in Sydney is like no other , thats why I really love this city ^^ thanks for your comment, I enjoy all of your posts as well @knozaki2015

thank you ! yes the fishmarket is very nice, but have you been to tsukiji market in tokyo?
if not we have to meet up there for a tour ;)

I've never been to Japan, but I really wish I could, maybe next year. I watched the movie about that fish market in tokyo already, and the aunction for really big tuna fishes interesting. I'd love the idea of a tour in Tokyo, there are just so many attracting restaurants needed to be tried :D

OH old memories! I went to the fishmarket couple of years ago! thanks for the awesome pictures !

Nice post!
I love seafood too.

I love seafood. Sushi is one of my favorite.

oh wow this makes me want more seafood. and i just spent a long weekend at the beach !

I felt that I am hungry . I love fresh sea foods :)

I love fresh oysters with hot source..yummy,lol..looks weather is good too. Have fun! leave a vote~ see you.

The oysters with sauce is chinese dish, isnt it? Its tasty, i love it too, and the weather in Sydney is great, fresh air as always ^^

Love this post. I've been to the fishmarket 2 Years ago and the seefood is damn good. Just started following you- where do you actually live? :)

Im currently living in germany, thanks for your comment ^^

The seafood and fine dining is Sydney is some of the best in the world but no culinary visit to Sydney is complete without vising the World Famous Harrys Cafe de Wheels Pie van at Woolloomooloo

http://www.harryscafedewheels.com.au/

Great pictures and post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64