A steemian's world food journal. Berlin Part 2

in #food8 years ago

Hello everyone, I am coming back with the second part of my Berlin food trip. I hope you enjoyed the first part of the journey, and for some of you who have been asking for the next one, here it is :)

enter image description here
Sachiko Sushi's famous sashimi dish

SACHIKO SUSHI
I love Japanese food, I really do. And so does my hubby. He can eat sushi everyday and even every meal. Therefore, we decided to have Japanese food for lunch. Surprisingly, there are several places offering Japanese dishes in Berlin, and it was such a challenge choosing which one to visit. Eventually, we went to Sachiko Sushi in Grolman street. This place is quite small and cozy, not so many tables but the special thing is they have a really nice “sushi river” in the middle of the room:

Sushi on boat
Sushi on boats :P
Sushi on boats
It got empty quite quickly (not from us, of course)

Sushi dishes are put on top of the boats and the sushi boats go along the river. Customers can easily take their favorite one directly from the boats. It is a fun experience eating like that. The sushi river along with soft music at the restaurant has brought a relaxing feeling to people. The sushi here are quite nice, we ordered some original dishes and some fusion ones.

enter image description here

enter image description here
Some nice mixed maki roll

Unfortunately, Sachiko sushi only offers sushi and some side dishes such as tempura, gyoza and Japanese chicken nuggets. There is no udon, ramen or rice, which made me a little upset :( this restaurant is worth trying once you are a fan of sushi.

FROZEN YOGURT
enter image description here
Yummy is all I can say about this dessert. There are different yogurt flavors: original, strawberry, mango and caramel. I chose the medium size with 4 toppings. It is fun selecting the toppings since there are several kinds such as fresh fruit, cookies, nut, chocolate sauce etc. My cup turned out to be toooo much, a big one full of toppings. But it looked sooo attracting and eventually I finished the whole cup by myself :)

MATCHA LATTE – COME BUY BUBBLE TEA
We ran into this beautiful tea shop on a street at the heart of the city. Unlike the Coco Tea shop yesterday, this place offers a wider range of tea, more traditional and typical Taiwanese. I just love the décor with nature style. They even have a bookshelf with many Asian comic books. I was extremely happy when I saw “Matcha” on the menu. Although Matcha drinks are popular in Asian, here in Germany they become pretty rare as Western people seem to be not so interested in this flavor. For me, I like the bitterness of Matcha and the aroma rising from it. Undoubtedly, I had to order a cup of Matcha milk tea with pearls right away. And I was not disappointed. The matcha is so refreshing, strong and aromatic – another must-try when you are in Berlin ;)
enter image description here
Comebuy shop from the outside (Credits: pic from google)
enter image description here
And the inside (Credits: pic from google)
enter image description here
We took 3 cups of these delicious

VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT- DONG XUAN MARKET
Dong Xuan market is an ideal place for Vietnamese cuisine lover like me. Beside Asian mini supermarkets and shops, there are many restaurants there offering authentic Vietnamese dishes. Nowhere else in Berlin could you find the full menu of Vietnamese foods including even the rare ones. With recommendation from a friend, we stopped by Hanoi Quan and had a beautiful dinner there.
Bun cha
The famous Bun Cha – a Hanoian specialty : noodle soup with pork BBQ and dipping sauce.

Yummy !!! I love how they put everything into a bamboo dish, very attracting ;) By the way, you can read more about Bun Cha here.

Pho Ga
One of the most popular and well-known meal in Vietnam: Phở (This one is chicken style noodle soup - Pho Ga).
Read more about Pho here.
Banh Cuon
Banh Cuon
Banh Cuon in short is Vietnamese steamed rice cakes, inside is minced pork with special type of mushroom, you eat them with a dipping sauce, somehow similar to Bun Cha’s sauce :)

Nom
Chicken legs salad - my most favorite dish of the meal. The chiken legs without bones are mixed with some Vietnamese vegetables, fresh herbs, sweet and sour dressing. I am starving typing this line. The crunchiness of the legs and the sweet and sour flavors of the dressing make a great combination. I just could not help it, so I decided to ask for one more dish to take away :)

It was such an awesome dinner that we had at Dong Xuan market. I could not eat the Vietnamese dessert since I was too full. What a pity ! But I will come back here soon, I promise ;) That is also the end of my short food trip in Berlin. Although it was only 2 days, I realized that I had eaten toooo much after composing these entries. There is no doubt that my weight will be a big problem here, but who cares ? Good food, happy life – that is my slogan :P
Thank you so much for reading my food entries, I will try to come up with more interesting posts later.
See you soon <3<3<3

Sort:  

@mibenkito great post. i would add the last floor of KaDeWe market as a great spot to visit. Fresh fish/seafood that you can buy to home or get you cooked there.

I've been to KDW but never got to the last floor, what a pity. I'll definitely go there next time , danke schön🙃

Though I just finished lunch, I'm getting hungry just reading this. Thank you for the post and good work, namaste :)

I'm hungry now , looks delicious!

Have a nice dinner :)

Wow. Delicious meals. I feel like going to Berlin this instant :-)

Hmmm.. yummie.. delicious..

Looks delicious! Great post! Interesting that you can find this type of food in multiple parts of the world!

very good .wo like

man i LOVE sushi and that sushi looks soo good. My worry is all the radiation going into the ocean, im wondering if its messing with the fish, i mean it has to be right?

Dang it! Now I am hungry. That sushi looks really good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50