MY FOOD GALLERY - THE WAY WE LIKE TO EAT

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Food frames1.jpg
Food frames 2.jpg

When I was about thirteen, my mom would ask me to help her prepare family lunch or dinner. I thought why me (?)! The reason for this was because I have five brothers and I´m the only girl in the family. I always complained due to the fact that I couldn´t play with my friends. My mom would always tell me that I have to do this since she could not rely on the boys to do the peeling of potatoes and carrots and the beets.. it´s the work of the women in the house, she explained.

My dad however, loved the Sunday cooking and he would prepare his famous dried Menudo as well as the Stir-fried Aubergines. He did every chore in his cooking... from peeling the veggies and other ingredients. My job was to taste if the seasoning was fine or not.

In my household, Thursdays are meant for food buying, we chose this day because most supermarkets get fresh produce and delivery on the same day. My marathon cooking starts on the following Friday. Sometimes, I would cook five various main dish, put them in containers pre-portioned for one lunch. That means all main food to be consumed for the week are cooked in advanced and frozen, we just thawed the dish the night before it is served the following day.

When you look at the dishes featured here, you will not see any seafood.... that´s because hubby and I do not eat sea food. The only fish we eat are those that are being coated with bread crumbs and fried. I will be posting recipes of the food I have cooked by and by and I hope you would try-out those recipes.

Thanks for visiting and for reading me. Hope to see you around again.

Mers
https://steemit.com/@mers

Note: All contents and photos on this blog are mine unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62