You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Healthy Snacks Series - #8 Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread

in #food8 years ago

That's definitely a unique soda bread recipe! I think my husband might call it blasphemous especially since it's not his great-grandmother's recipe LOL
I am curious about the taste though. There's no mention of anything to sweeten it, but it sounds like it would be delicious toasted with melted butter!

Sort:  

Ah, recipes passed from family members are like gold :-) I know some people like to put honey or a little brown sugar to sweeten (and give a nice crust), but personally I don't feel any sweetness is necessary - perhaps because I don't often eat sugar??? I used to add brown sugar when I originally made the bread with about 75% strong wholemeal bread flour, as otherwise the taste was a bit too savory, but with the wholewheat flour I find the taste is beautiful. And DEFINITELY delicious toasted and buttered, yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56