You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Locally Grown Food and You: Farmer's Markets! Some Info For Healthy Food

in #food8 years ago

People simply do not understand that they may be paying a lot more for "organic" simply because it says it on the label. They really don't know what they're getting!

I have a friend who has a farm and she doesn't use hormones or antibiotics for her angus. We pay more but we know which one's our cow. I've also been slowly growing my own vegetables and fruits (considering I have a black thumb and have killed almost everything in the past - moving to Florida has given me a fighting chance at growing stuff! LOL)

I go to the farmstands because I grew up around farms and I know how hard local farmers work! They get my support any time I can afford it. As for GMOs... Well, technically it is food. You can eat it, but the nutritional value is probably that of a cardboard box. You can eat that too and not feel hungry, but it's not going to be good for you!

Sort:  

That's what i was getting at about Organic, we have a hydroponic grow system that uses fertilizers, but they are all elements of the earth, nitrogen, calcium etc. The organic crowd flips out over that, but once they taste our stuff they come around. And we don't use anything stronger than neem oil, we face bug attacks, but we use bees to pollinate so that's the way it has to be. There is a long list of organically approved pesticides that will harm beneficials and all. Just not the way we do business.
Think before you blindly follow any food trend! That's what I tell folks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68707.59
ETH 3845.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63