You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Faux Pink Lemonade - No Lemons for the Steemint Culinary Challenge #14 - But still a winning drink!

in #food7 years ago

hmm... the only sumac I've ever heard of is poison sumac. I certainly would never want to forage or eat that - but I had no idea there are edible types. My new home is not so "foraging-friendly" but I'm hoping to be in a new place by this summer with lots of nature and its bounty. I'll definitely be searching through the foraging tag for more information.

Sort:  

They really are not hard to tell apart at all. Poison sumac, poison ivy, and poison oak all have white berries. And the seed cluster of an edible sumac is all at the end of a branch, not coming out from any other part. Here's a picture of poison ivy berries, so you can see their color, and how they don't come out at the end of a branch. Poison sumac has its seeds the same way. I hope you find some edible sumac sometime!
poisonivyberries1411f.md.jpg

me too! I'm a huge fan of lemonade but you faux lemonade sounds wonderfully refreshing - and I love the fact that you can literally forage all of the ingredients. In addition to foraging, I have high hopes of saving enough for a FlowHive, and start a small aquaponics system. I cannot wait until the majority of my food comes from my back yard and not the grocery store!

It really is satisfying to eat from my yard and wild places. It sounds like you have a great plan for eating from your future yard, too! In the meantime, you can keep your eyes open for Sumac bushes! They are in Florida -- maybe closer than you think! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54