Rice Krispy Nests for Easter!

in #food6 years ago

Tomorrow mini me and I are going to a potluck & Easter Egg Hunt and decided to try these cute Rice Krispy nests! You can make these with whatever toppings you like. I'll share with you how I made mine.

What I used:

6 cups Rice Krispies or another brand of rice crisp cereal (I used Meijer brand)
1 bag of mini marshmellows
3 Tablespoons butter
Icing
Food coloring

  1. Put a few drops into your icing to make a light green color for your grass.

  1. In a large pot, melt the butter on low. Add marshmallows and cook until melted. (Stir often!)

  1. Remove from heat, stir in rice cereal.

  2. There are two ways to do this and I tried both ways. I prefer greasing the cupcake pan and forming the rice krispy treats into them. Another way I tried was using parchment paper for easy cleanup. Form them into the cups with a small indent in the middle for your eggs.

  3. Let them set for about 10 - 15 minutes.

  1. Swirl a small amount of icing in the middle of the nest (I used a baggie and cut a tip off at the bottom to easily swirl it in.) Then add your eggs in a cute little fashion!

I really enjoyed making these and you can change it up to make it your own! For the eggs, you could use chocolate eggs, jellybeans or Robin eggs! I also considered using green dyed coconut for the grass too, but I don't know how many of the kids attending would like it.

Enjoy!

♥ Meows

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43