My experience with the vegan diet

in #food8 years ago

I went vegan for a year and a lot happened in that time. I will share the good and the bad of this diet. This however is just my personal experience so it's probably different for everyone. 

I became a vegan for different reasons. One was for the animals but my biggest wish was to get a healthy and slim body and to clear my skin. When I found out about this diet everyone who was promoting veganism keep promising a lot. "You will get healthy skin, you will lose weight, you will feel better".. I have tried the raw til 4 diet and the starch solution diet. I also tried to eat whatever my body wants (all healthy of course). And here is the result (positive and negative).

1. My belly was always bloated no matter what I ate. 

Since day one I felt sick after every meal and I had to do a cardio workout after in order to stop the pain. At first I though that it's normal because my body needed time to get used to the new diet. But let's be honest after almost a year.. It wasn't normal at all. 

2. I had a lot of energy all the time. 

I started having a lot more energy almost right away. I wasn't sleepy after meals anymore and I could do a lot more stuff. Workout wasn't a problem because I had plenty of energy from fruit and veggies. Even studying became easier. 

3. I didn't lose any weight even though I was training every day. 

I was training for 2 hours a day. I did a lot of cardio but also muscle building exercises. And because I was bloated all the time I felt even fatter. After I switched to a starch solution diet the situation got better. My belly did slim down a bit and I wasn't so bloated anymore. But I still didn't lose any weight. 

4. My skin didn't become better at all. 

I still had pimples all over my face even though my food was super healthy. It didn't heal anything. I also didn't notice any other change in my hair or nails or skin in general. It maybe got better for 10%.  

5. I found out many good recipes.

Vegans have delicious food and this is a fact. The variety of food is incredible and it's all pretty much delicious. There are so much options that you can't get bored of food. The only downside is that in my country you can't find a lot of the good stuff. 

Would I recommend this diet? Yes you should try it out. Maybe it will work out for you. Sadly it didn't for me. So I am back to being a vegetarian. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55