Why I Cook

in #food7 years ago

I recently got retrenched after being in advertising for 7 odd years. For the last year I've been wanting to make my escape but have really never had the time to do anything about it because I've always been working.
Now I have the time, and I'm using it to follow a dream I've had since a boy - food. I want to cook it, eat it, share it and most of all take everyone on an adventure back in time to the meals they grew up loving.

I've been on a large cooking journey trying new things every week. Fermenting, cooking things I've not done before and it's really opened my eyes to a lot.


Salted Nutella Brownie

The dream is to keep going until I can comfortably open a restaurant. I live in Cape Town, South Africa and it's a food lover's dream. We have it all... well mostly. I really just want to be a part of something, no matter how small, that people can go home feeling satisfied and have memories of the tastes they experienced for years to come.

I'd love to get some feedback on what you consider the meal closest to your heart, whether it be something as simple as a sandwich, or as elaborate as a multi-layered dessert. I want to know what gets your mouth watering on. Think nostalgic, think the smells in the house when you got home from work while someone was cooking dinner. Think family dinners, holidays, celebrations, if there's food involved I want to know what it is so I can try cook it.


This Sunday's Roast Beef

We may not all be able to speak the same languages, or even get to set foot in the different countries we all live in but we can share each other's experiences through food. Food is a language that every single person on this planet speaks, so let's chat!

Here's more food:

Baklava


Focaccia Bread


Truffle, mushroom, thyme pasta


Mushroom Tart


Shiitake Ramen


Fish Tacos


Grilled Cheese


Home Made Sauerkraut

Sort:  

Congratulations @memestoanend! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @memestoanend! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47