Beautiful, Beneficial Beets and Ways to turn the BEET UP on boring old recipessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Beeaauutiful, crisp, sweet, earthy, VIBRANT and naturally, nutritious beets. Beets are one of my favourite root vegetables, not only for their nutritional content, versatility, but also their stunning colours and I am soo happy they are coming back in season!!

3097882367_daf4751e57_o.jpg
Photo By: Mark Goebel

Beets are packed with many vitamins and minerals, antioxidants and phytonutrients.

In 100g of raw beets, there is only about 50 calories, about 2g of protein, 0.1g of fat and 3g of dietary fibre, making it great addition to your diet if you are looking to lose weight.

Beets are also a great source of FOLATE

Folate is key vitamin for all of you ladies planning on getting pregnant.

Folate is important in the initial stages of pregnancy as it aids in cell division and production of red blood cells. Whats more, beets are also low in vitamin-a, which in excessive amounts (just don't eat liver everyday) can be harmful to the fetus.

Beets are a good source of manganese, magnesium, iron and potassium

Beets are also a source of blood cleansing, cancer bashing phytonutrients, antioxidants and vitamins. Beets can also work as anti-inflammatory in the body.

Its important not to think of inflammation as the swelling of your hand, or the rash on your body. Inflammation can also happen internally and in some cases be a positive bodily reaction. However, high levels of inflammation can cause allergies, cancer, arthritis, diabetes, skin disorders etc. Fresh, raw, juicy plants are, in general, helpful in reducing inflammation in the body.

Beets are also super versatile! you can bake them, fry them, put them in a salad, or a smoothie or one of my favourites: HUMMUS!

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 21.45.11.png

I definitely eat with my eyes when it comes to beets. This color is, really, just WOW. The sweet, earthiness of the beets, with the freshness of lime, nutty tahini, and dashes of salt, pepper and garlic make this combo one of my absolute favourites. Pair it with some greens and you have a show-stopping snack on your hands.

Here, I made a flatbread pizza using a red beet puré :

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 21.49.43.png

I topped it with fresh rucola, cucumber and caramelised onions and a balsamic dressing.

And because I am a sucker for sweet treats, I always have healthy ones I can get my hands on, when the sugar tooth strikes.

Bliss balls are my go-to, they are so easy and can be made in so many different ways! Your imagination sets the limitation! Here is a bliss ball version called: BEET BALL

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 21.55.14.png

Raw beets, dates, oatmeal, ginger and a dash of salt - an addictive treat, healthy and filling enough you could eat it for breakfast.

Needless to say, these don't last long in our house!

The possibilities are numerous! Really, I have plenty more beet-a-licious photos on my computer. I can't get over the color, nor adding beets to all sorts of recipes.

What do you like to add beets to?

On another note: I am off to Sweden into the middle of no where with no electricity or running water. I am disconnecting for a while, but look forward to hopping back on the steem-train with new energy and ideas when I return.

So I say.. Ciao for now, Sweet Steemers

😍 😍 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57