Chop veggies like a ninja it's easy!!

in #food8 years ago

How many times have you cut your finger with a knife in the kitchen?

Have you always wanted to chop with a knife like those chefs on the tv?

Do you crave to learn the dark arts of the ninja?

Then read on...

I make a lot of food, if you follow me you might have noticed ;0)

One of the most useful things that a friend taught me and no it wasn't the don't touch your nethers after chopping a habanero was how to use a chefs knife without cutting yourself and in the process chop really fast!!!

It's really simple and once you learn you will become a chopping machine.. a chopping ninja!!

So let's go. Firstly you will need a big, heavy, sharp chefs knife. Like so

Now this is quite simple but best demonstrated by seeing so I have made a couple of videos! The end of the first being the most ninja

Essentially you want to hold your fingers pointing down to the veg, making a 'wall' for the knife to slide down. This way nothing is in front of the blade but the veg.

And to demonstrate in a better way here are a couple of short videos.

And one more for the lolz!

Let me know what you think! And remember.. You are ninja now.

Sort:  

Can you write some lyrics for your chopping melody? :)

Hehe, magnificent gif! I could maybe fit some words in it yes! hehe

Yeek, indeed! I've only cut myself once with a vegetable knife, but I lost part of my finger that day. You are doing a huge public service with this post. :)

I cut myself many times before I learned to chip properly so thought it good to share!!

Thank you @amy-goodrich, its all in the outfit! lol

thank you @meesterboom - great post and great videos. Keep up the good work!

Oh I can't stand it when i see people chopping food the wrong way especially if they haven't sharpened the knife.

Same here, its like waiting for the inevitable slice and scream!

I've always wanted to learn this. I'm gonna give it a try next time I cook! Thanks!

Cheers! You will never look back once you get the hang of it, as long as you start nice and slow then build up!!

It was interesting to read. Well the problem is described. The material is presented correctly. Post deserves attention. I want to re-read to familiarize yourself with the individual parts of the post. It sets out clearly and intelligibly. The problem outlined in the post appears clearly to our consciousness. Thank you for having clearly shown that this is the case. We had to get acquainted with it and know more about

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91