Minecraft Enchantment Table Cake!!

in #food7 years ago

And how I made it. It is a lemon cake with honey filling and buttercream icing. To start with (because everyone loves skipping to the end), the finished product:

Thumbnail.png
Thumbnail of Finished Cake

For those of you unfamiliar this is what I was going for.

I made this cake for @Dutch as a VERY LATE birthday cake. I made it yesterday (Sunday night) and it took me 4 and a half hours from stepping into the kitchen to leaving cleaned up. The cake is comprised of two parts. The not eatable and the eatable. I hope it is obvious but the book on top is not eatable but that is it. The book is made of paper and card covered in plastic book wrap to make sure it didn't get affected by moisture of the cake. I printed it before hand and put it together while the cake was in the oven.



Not eatable book

Other than the book the rest of the cake was eatable. It was made from recipe I found on the internet for a Lemon cake



The batter! I am a messy baker

I decided to make two layers to get the right height and because I only had one rectangle pan. I quickly realised after making the first one that the bottom of the pan was missing a bit of non-stick ( o _ o ) This was not good and my one big mistake. Luckily, needing two layers means one can be the unseen bottom!



I learnt from my mistake and used baking paper for the second. Which turned out very perfect!



After painstakingly waiting to let it cool, I cut them to a square and stacked them. There is a honey layer in between! which helped them stick and gave a smooth bite in.



Next it was time for the buttercream icing. Here is a photo of the first layer applied to fill in the holes to make square. After this layer I freezed it for 20 mins to make it hard and apply the second layer.



And the second layer before the fondant icing. You can really see the purple colour here. The final images the lighting made it look a little different colour but I assure you it is indeed a dark purple. On that note I only had the three primary colours so Red+Blue = Purple



I don't have any photos of the cutting of the fondant because I had to work quickly and I didn't want to get my Ipad dirty taking pictures. All the fondant started white and I coloured. The green actually has a tinge of blue to it not picked up by the camera. The green unfortunately dried a bit harder (I think) because I spent too long working with it. The red was still nice and soft at the end. I thought about filling in the top of the cake but decided that it actually looked better this way.



The last step was putting the book on top. It is held in place with some more butter cream icing and propped up with a plastic fork. Note the book was two sided.



Finally the finished product looked absolutely amazing and tasted even better.


image12.JPG

I hope you guys enjoyed reading as much as I did making it. Till next time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56