You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kombucha Sunday: And then there were two....

in #food7 years ago

I wouldn't worry too much about the cover, as long as it can breathe. I use a dirty old tea towel (see the photo)! Be proud of your brew! Enjoy it!

Sort:  

I'm a worrier though. And I read some nasty mold-related incidents :D
But I do believe in the resilience of the scoby :)

I've been brewing for over 6 months now and have had no mold issues. I have kept the same SCOBY and only split it when I have shared the SCOBY/starter with friends. I occasionally rinse the SCOBY in filtered water between brews, as it does start to get a bit dirty with old residue from the tea etc etc

yeap. mostly what i want to do from now on. Have enough for my brews and let them grow, occasionally share with whoever wants one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70