Cooking With the Princesses Episode 5

in #food7 years ago

Today Cinnamon Rolls!

20170726_172134_HDR.jpg

There is a truck stop in Johnstown, Colorado called Johnson's Corner. They have a diner and a gas station and they make World Famous cinnamon rolls. The delightful pastries are now sold throughout the state at almost every gas station and truck stop.

Today, the Princesses and I shall try to recreate those decadent and delicious rolls. I found a knock off recipe that looks like it is probably pretty close.

20170726_172313_HDR.jpg

This recipe is large, so if you don't have a way to get rid of 12 or so huge cinnamon buns, I would suggest halving it. Lets get started!

Recipe For the Dough

  • 13 cups bread flour
  • 5 cups warm water
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon dry yeast

Directions

  • Add the yeast to 5 cups warm water and whisk together
  • Add 6 cups of flour, one at a time while stirring

20170726_172852_HDR.jpg

  • Cover and let rest for two hours
  • The sponge will have grown some, gently stir it then sprinkle with the salt and brown sugar
  • Add about 6 more cups of flour one at a time while stirring
  • When the mixture is too difficult to stir, turn it out onto a well floured surface and knead 8 to 10 minutes adding flour as needed, until you have a smooth, elastic dough.
  • Place dough into a large oiled bowl or two.
  • Cover and let rise until double, 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
  • Put dough back on work surface and roll it into a 24 inch square.

The recipe then calls for the filling. It says

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup ground cinnamon

Directions

  • Rub dough with vegetable oil

  • Sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon

  • Roll the dough into a jelly roll shape

  • Cut into 2 inch sections and place on a well greased baking sheet.

  • Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 30 minutes.

  • After you get that done, preheat your oven to 400 and place a rack at the top 1/3 of it.

  • Bake rolls for 35-40 minutes until golden brown.

20170726_234028_HDR.jpg

I deviated from the recipe I found online by using bread flour instead of all purpose flour. I also measured none of the filling, instead sprinkling the brown sugar and cinnamon liberally. I probably used just a little more than the recipe called for, but it gives you a baseline.

The recipe also came with no topping recipe. Johnson's Corner uses two main toppings. They use a sugary drizzle and they have a delightful cream cheese frosting. I will be making the drizzle here as the frosting puts these rolls into the cardiac danger category.

The drizzle is super simple.

Recipe

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Directions

  • Stir sugar and milk together to form a drizzle add more milk as needed

I refrigerate the drizzle until needed because it contains milk and will not keep out of the fridge.
When I am ready for a cinnamon roll, I warm it and then put the drizzle on.

20170727_105011_HDR.jpg

Now it's time to enjoy a great cup of Nicaraguan coffee and a delicious truck stop cinnamon roll while totally tanking my Voting Power. Enjoy!

1501175020855-606858181.jpg


This was a very enjoyable recipe to make with my Princesses. It was also very time consuming. Be sure you have a whole day to give before you make these.


As always, thank you for supporting me! I love ya!

Sort:  

Wow, looks so delicious, I never eat it because we don't have this in my country, thanks for sharing it, I hope I will know how to make it, you describe very well. You seems to me like a interesting person, and I will follow you. I saw your profile, and I am hope that you will continue to share such a interesting stories. :)

Thank you@bobrock! It is a simple, though time consuming recipe. Try it!

Love seeing your princess chefs :D

Glad you liked it! Thanks!

That looks and sounds delicious. I want one :)

They are sooo good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60210.85
ETH 3297.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38